A guide to digital resources relevant to microbiologists and immunologists.
Last Updated: Jul 10, 2013
- PubMed (with MGet It links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 22 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides...
- UM-MEDSEARCH (Ovid)
The University of Michigan's access to MEDLINE and other databases and various full text biomedical journals. Also has MGet It links to full text.
- Web of Science (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Index to the journal literature in 164 scientific disciplines including biomedicine, biotechnology, and basic sciences. Includes citations, abstracts, and cited references, from 1900-present.
- SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder is a discovery tool provided by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS) for chemical structure & reaction and forward cited-reference searches. Searches are performed across select Chemical Abstracts databases and Medline...
- BIOSIS Previews
Life sciences and biomedical research covering pre-clinical and experimental research, methods and instrumentation, animal studies, and more. Contains content from journals, meetings, patents, and books, and is available 1926-present.
- Conference Papers Index
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is ...
- Current Contents Connect (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Indexes the table-of-contents pages of scholarly journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of medicine, science, engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.
- DoD Biomedical Research Database
A database that developed from biomedical research, testing or training programs being federally funded in FY1998 to FY2009. The areas of research, testing and training include, but are not limited to, the following: infectious diseases, biological...
A database of agricultural resources, very useful for animal model selection.
- ProQuest (includes Cambridge Scientific Abstracts)
Includes access to 17 indexing and abstracting databases in the life sciences.
Contains over 75 online textbooks, including Jawetz, Melnick, & Adelberg's Medical Microbiology and Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology.
Full access to 9000+ articles, 110,000+ dictionary terms, 16,000+ color images and videos, and hundreds of Research Updates in all areas of science and technology updated daily. Also includes over 3000 biographies of leading scientists, weekly updates of breakthroughs and discoveries...
- Current Protocols Online
Provides laboratory methods in cell biology, molecular biology, cytometry, human genetics, immunology, analytical chemistry, neuroscience, protein science, toxicology and pharmacology.
- eLS (formerly known as Encyclopedia of Life Sciences)
Provides over 5000 peer-reviewed articles, images, a glossary of terms, news, and some multimedia files on a wide variety of life sciences topics. eLS is updated by approximately 400 articles per year, with new articles publishing on a monthly basis.
- Knovel: Engineering & Scientific Online References
Contains electronic versions of popular reference books in a variety of disciplines.
- Methods in Enzymology
Key reference work for protocols, methods & procedures used for chemical, biochemical, cellular, biomedical, & genetic research on enzymes and related molecules.
Contains the full text of books and journals published by Springer.
Taubman Health Sciences Library
1135 E. Catherine St.
Ann Arbor, MI 48109