A guide to electronic resources in support of Ophthalmology
Last Updated: Jun 21, 2013
Access Surgery is an integrated online resource that provides medical students, surgical residents, and practicing surgeons with quick answers to surgical inquiries.
81 leading full-text online textbooks in a variety of disciplines. Includes Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and 5-Minute Clinical Consult. Content is searchable by subject category, cross-searching by all or selected texts.
- MD Consult
Includes 50 searchable full-text textbooks (text and image searching), drug information, access to the Clinics of North America, drug information, drug safety notices, practice guidelines, patient education handouts, and medical information in the news.
This resource includes over 30 clinical and educational online textbooks, and provides access to information for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, conducting research, medical education, and self-assessment or board review.
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or...
- DynaMed - Note : this is a trial
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care'. With clinically-organized summaries for more than 3,000 topics, DynaMed is the only evidence-based reference shown to answer most clinical questions during practice.
- PubMed (with MGet It links)
PubMed indexes over 4,000 biomedical, nursing, dentistry and related journals, with over 15 million citations in MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE and related databases. PubMed is produced by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) and provides...
- UM-MEDSEARCH (Ovid)
The University of Michigan's access to MEDLINE and other databases and various full text biomedical journals. Also has MGet It links to full text.
- Google Scholar@UM
Google Scholar can broadly search for scholarly literature, across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional society, universities and more.
- Web of Science (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Index to the journal literature in 164 scientific disciplines including biomedicine, biotechnology, and basic sciences. Includes citations, abstracts, and cited references, from 1945-present.
- Conference Papers Index
Conference Papers provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world. Subject emphasis since 1995 has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences. Information is ...
- Current Contents Connect (via ISI Web of Knowledge)
Indexes the table-of-contents pages of scholarly journals, books and conference proceedings in the fields of medicine, science, engineering, the arts, social sciences, and humanities.
This database is an international multi-disciplinary indexing and abstracting source for scientific, medical, technical, and social sciences. It covers journals, patents, and websites (18,000+ titles) from 5,000+ publishers. Researchers can do cited reference searching, citation analysis, get h-factor for authors, journal analyzing, etc.
pharmacological records from EMBASE and MEDLINE.
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.