Checking out a BookGet ThisNew Tools in MirlynSearching in MirlynYour Library Account
1 - Search Tools2 - Find Newspapers3 - Scholarly vs. Popular4 - Find Full-Text (MGetIt)
This is the "English 125 - Home" page of the "English 125 - Kumarasamy" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

English 125 - Kumarasamy  

This guide is intended to assist English 125 - Writing Across the Spectrum Students with their course assignments
Last Updated: Oct 20, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/Kumarasamy Print Guide RSS Updates

English 125 - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide is designed introduce the library to undergraduate students at The University of Michigan and to act as a basic guide for undergraduate research.

 

 

    Library Session Evaluation Form

Library Session Evaluation Form

Please let us know what you think of the library workshops after you have attended one.

 

Welcome to the Library

English 125

Instructor: Akil Kumarasamy
Librarian: Alex Rivera


Essay 4: Causal Analysis

Consider the causal relations of some aspect of pop culture. The topic might consider why a trend, event or movement in pop culture changed or took place—or what has happened because it changed. You will be required to cite three different scholarly sources in this paper, so while the topic should be something you care about, you need not have an encyclopedic knowledge of issue to begin with. It is perhaps best to stay away from excessively broad, complex issues. It is also advisable to stay away from topics that will not yield any solid information through research.

This paper should explain to the reader the chief causes for some effect, or the chief effects of some cause. While this is not a “research paper,” sources will be consulted, quoted and cited in a list of “works cited” to help support the thesis. The thesis must be precise and restricted. Keep your focus narrow; make your wording exact.

The thesis should try to show the readers something that they have never seen before, never considered before. Be thoughtful and creative, give yourself adequate time in the pre-writing phase, and spend time to take care with the exact wording of the thesis. The thesis could, for instance, posit, “While it is generally known that A causes B, it often goes unnoticed that A is also responsible for contributing to X.”

Papers must support the thesis statement by presenting an analysis of a causal relation, of the specific links in a chain of cause and effect. Specific, concrete examples are very helpful for supporting such relations, but with the research other forms of evidence, such as statistics and testimony, may also be employed. You may consider both cause and effect, but you may also choose to discuss one more heavily than the other. As with all analysis, the paper should be looking beneath the surface to examine the causal elements of your subject.

 

Getting Started/Topic Overview

CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. You can browse CQ Resercher by topic, track specific controversial topics by date or look up topics in their Pro/Con section. Pro/Con offers succinct articles by experts arguing for and against given topics. Click on the image below to go to this database.

 

Issues and Controversies offers accurate discussions of over 250 controversial topics in the news supplemented with chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, contact information, and bibliographies including primary source documents and news editorials. It has a subject index and a section featuring pro/con articles on a number of topics.

 

Try These Databases

•   ProQuest Research Library
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28823

•   PsycINFO  (Psychology)
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/2734

•   Communication and Mass Media Complete (Communication and Media Studies)
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28255

•    Sociological Abstracts (Sociology)
      http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27171

Library Contact

Profile Image
Alexandra Rivera
Contact Info
Office Address: 2178 Shapiro Library
Phone: (734) 764-7037
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip