African American Studies Web Sites
W.E.B. Du Bois Institute For African and African American Research
The Du Bois Institute is the nation's oldest research center dedicated to the study of the history, culture, and social institutions of Africans and African Americans.
Developed by Cora Agatuccie at Central Oregon Community College. The site includes seprate timelines for Ancient Africa and for the period from the 1st to 15th centuries A.D.
Brown v. Board of Education Digitial Archive
University of Michigan Library's Brown v. Board of Education Digital Archive. This archive contains documents and images which chronicle events surrounding this historically significant case up to the present.
The archive is divided into four main areas of interest: Supreme Court cases; busing and school integration efforts in northern urban areas; school integration in the Ann Arbor Public School District; and recent resegregation trends in American schools.
The "Underground Railroad
The National Geographic website includes a simulation of the decision and consequences of chossing or not choosing to escape encslavement on the Underground Railroad
The African American Mosaic: A Library of Congress Resource Guide for the Study of Black History and Culture
The Mosaic surveys the full range size, and variety of the Library's collections, including books, periodicals, prints, photographs, music, film, and recorded sound
E Black Studies
An effort to decelop a website specifically designed to serve the interest and needs of Africana Studies
Indexes over 3,800 journals and magazines covering all fields and topics, academic and popular, beginning as early as 1971.
Suggested LC Subject Headings in MIRLYN
African Americans -- Civil rights -- History -- 20th century -- Sources.
Civil rights movements -- United States -- History -- 20th century -- Sources.
United States -- Race relations -- History -- 20th century -- Sources.
Civil rights workers -- United States -- Biography.
Civil Rights Movement.
African American Studies Databases
Oxford African American Studies Center
Combines more than 7,500 articles by scholars drawn from reference works. Includes the complete text of Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience, The Encyclopedia of African American History, Black Women in America, African American National Biography, and The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, plus selected articles from many other reference works published by Oxford University Press. Also includes over 1,000 images, maps, charts, tables, and primary sources with specially written commentaries.
African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This collection features papers from more than 35 states. Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers, 1827-1998 was created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the United States—those of the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress.
Black Historical Newspapers
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Finding Legal Cases
Lexis Nexis Academic
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers, legal and business publications, wire services, broadcast media transcripts, and trade/news magazines.