Find cases
- Nexis UniClick on Legal Research to find Federal and state cases. Access limited to authorized UM users (through validated sign-on).
- HeinOnlineLaw journals (including international), criminal justice journals, Federal Register (1936-2000), Treaties in Force (1932-2004), U.S. Reports (1754-2002), Attorney General Opinions (1791-1982). UM users only.
- LLMC DigitalIncludes a United States Judicial collection covering: U.S. Supreme Court, U.S. Circuit and District Court Reports, U.S. Courts of Specialized Jurisdiction, Early Federal Nominative Reports, Administrative Publications, and FJC Publications. UM users only
Supreme Court
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni contains U.S. Supreme Court Briefs. Select coverage from 1936-1978.Includes merit briefs for cases granted certiorari and special masters, amicus curiae briefs, and joint appendices beginning in January 1979. All briefs are available for cases granted certiorari beginning after the 1993-1994 term.
- U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs This link opens in a new windowContains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
- CQ Supreme Court Collection This link opens in a new windowProvides historical analysis and commentary of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.
- Argument Transcripts Supreme Court of the United StatesPDFs of oral arguments back to 2000. Access open to all Internet users.
- Supreme Court DatabaseDataset about Supreme Court decisions and justices including variables about votes, cases and opinions.
- Martin-Quinn ScoresDataset that measures the judicial ideology of the Supreme Court
Oral Arguments of the US Supreme Court
- Oyez"a free law project from Cornell’s Legal Information Institute (LII), Justia, and Chicago-Kent College of Law—is a multimedia archive devoted to making the Supreme Court of the United States accessible to everyone. It is the most complete and authoritative source for all of the Court’s audio since the installation of a recording system in October 1955"
May It Please the Court... by ISBN: 1565840364Publication Date: 1993-08-01Book and cassette tapes that include both live recordings and transcripts of oral arguments in twenty-three of the most significant cases argued before the Supreme Court in the second half of the twentieth century.
- Oral arguments of the Supreme Court [microform at Law Library]Microfiche collection at the Law Library. This collection goes back to 1953. The call number is Microform Room Books C737 O63 S9. The University of Michigan Law Library access policy is available here: http://www.law.umich.edu/library/libinfo/usingthelibrary.htm#access