This is the "Introduction" page of the "South Asia Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

South Asia Guide   Tags: asian_languages_and_culture, asian_studies, international_studies, south_asia_studies  

This guide focuses on the following South Asia countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet, as well as South Asian diasporic communities.
Last Updated: Mar 25, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/southasia Print Guide RSS Updates

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

South Asia Collection

 

 

As with the other Area Programs Divisionsof the Graduate Library, our division is defined both geographically and culturally. Our division focuses on the following South Asia countries: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Tibet. In addition, we are concerned with South Asian diasporic communities, be they in the United States, Europe, Africa or elsewhere.

Our main objective in the South Asia Division is to support the research and teaching needs of students, scholars and faculty at the University of Michigan, and the collection reflects this focus. The collection is strong in the humanities and the social sciences, with notable secondary collections in other fields--including law, medicine, public health, architecture, natural sciences and mathematics. The collection is primarily housed in the Hatcher Graduate Library, but can be found in other relevant libraries across campus, for example, the Film and Video Library, the Fine Arts Library, the Law Library, the Map Library and the Music Library.

In all, the South Asia collection consists of over 300,000 titles in various formats, including over 70,000 monographs in South Asian languages (to see a breakdown of the language holdings, click here), over 1,500 current serial titles (for a list of the titles currently received, click here) and a growing collection of feature films. Notable holdings of the collection include complete runs of newspapers extending over one hundred years; complete Census of India reports going back to the 19th century; imperial and district gazetteers; archeological surveys and epigraphical reports; a Linguistic Survey of India; missionary archives on microfilm; extensive sets on religious literature (including Buddhist Tripitaka--120 and 72 volume sets published in USA and Taipei respectively); various vernacular bi-lingual and multi-lingual dictionaries and more.

 

 

Library Catalogs

Center for Research Libraries Provides access of research materials rarely held in North American Libraries. The section on Southeast Asia will reveal a sizeable holdings of periodicals held in Southeast Asian countries.
Open to all users.
WorldCat Citations to books,periodicals, sound recordings,videos,musical scores,archival materials representing holdings of most libraries in the world.
Restricted to UM users.

South Asia

Profile Image
Jeffrey Martin
Contact Info
110D Hatcher Graduate Library
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1205
Fax: (734)763-6743
Send Email
Subjects:
South Asia
 

  Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip