This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Tech Comm 300 " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Tech Comm 300   Tags: course:300, subject:tchnclcm, term:fall, year:2012  

A brief guide to helpful resources for Tech Comm 300.
Last Updated: Feb 11, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/tc300 Print Guide RSS Updates

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

About This Guide

This guide will direct you to some Library resources that will be useful to you in the literature search portion of your project for Tech Comm 300.  Use the tabs above to find pages on:

  • Background Information.  The Background Information page has links to engineering encyclopedias, handbooks, and reference collections that you can use to find good overviews of almost any topic related to engineering.  These resources typically include both short introductions to the topics of your research and bibliographies suggesting further reading on the topics.
  • Engineering Literature.  The Engineering Literature Databases page has links to index and abstract databases that will allow you to find journal articles on engineering topics.  This page also links to more information about two tools for citation management, RefWorks and Zotero.
  • Academic Integrity.  The Academic Integrity page will provide some guidance on what plagiarism is and how to avoid it.
  • Evaluating Websites.  The Evaluating Websites page gives an overview of questions to consider when using information found on the open web.

The "other resources" box in the left column of this page will point you toward other research guides and library tools that may be helpful in your research.

Some Tips on Library Searches

  • A well-planned and executed literature search takes time, but it will also save time.  Engineers can build off of others' successes and failures by reviewing publications and learning something about solutions to problems that have already been tried before beginning experimentation in the lab.
  • Engineering research is not a simple Google search.  Google cannot give you access to materials behind paywalls.  The Library makes these materials available to you through subscriptions to resources such as the Engineering Index.
  • Ask for help early in your process.  A good search strategy is more efficient than a poor one, and will help you avoid spending time looking in the wrong place or looking at material that is too challenging to interpret.
  • Ask the subject librarians for help!  Librarians can help you to find the right resources for your research, help you construct search strategies, and help you locate the materials that you have selected from your search results.  We are here to help you!
 

Other Resources

Art, Architecture & Engineering Library - Use this page as your gateway to library resources.

Mirlyn - Use Mirlyn to look for books and journals that are in one of the University of Michigan Libraries.  This guide will help you learn about using Mirlyn.

Search Tools - Use Search Tools to locate index databases, e-journals, and search for articles.  This guide will help you learn about using Search Tools.

Aerospace Engineering Research Guide - This is a subject guide to aerospace engineering compiled by staff of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.

Citation Management - Use this research guide to learn about tools such as RefWorks that you can use for organizing citations and creating bibliographies.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Sara Samuel
Contact Info
Engineering Librarian
Art, Architecture & Engineering Library
2321-D Duderstadt Center
2281 Bonisteel Blvd.
Ann Arbor, MI 48105
734-615-8638
Send Email

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip