This is the "Home" page of the "Latino/a Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Latino/a Studies   Tags: latina/o_studies, social_sciences  

The Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan is an inter-disciplinary and pan-Latino program that seeks to understand the history and culture of Latina/os in the United States.
Last Updated: Feb 26, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/latino Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Latina/o Studies at UM

Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan is an inter-disciplinary and pan-Latino program that seeks to understand the history and culture of Latina/os in the United States.  Our professors and the curriculum they offer cover a broad and diverse array of studies from history to community service learning to language instruction to cultural studies.  We also believe that one specific group of Latina/os, whether they be Puerto Ricans, Cubans, Mexican Americans or Central Americans, can not be understood in isolation and the best way to come to a deep understanding of the history and future of Latina/os in the United States is through comparative studies.

The Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan is housed within the American Culture Program.  We currently offer a concentration to LSA students and a minor.  We have a core faculty as well as many faculty associates who teach both graduate and undergraduate courses for the program.  For more information about the program, taking courses, or becoming a minor or concentrator, please contact Professor Maria Cotera, Director of the Program.

Find out about the new gateway course for Latina/o Studies, Introduction to Latina/o Studies.

Social Science Databases

 

MGet It

Already Have a Citation? Learn about MGetIt and citation linking

Citation Linker SFX
 

Chuck's Video

 

UM Latina/o Databases

Chicano Database
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V?func=native-link&resource=UMI00407

  • Comprehensive bibliographic resource
  • Contains all types of materials
  • Provides uniform subject access
  • Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database, covering psychological, sociological and educational literature
  • Portions of the Chicano Database have been published as the Chicano Periodical Index, covering 1967-1988; the Chicano Index, articles and books added since 1989; Arte Chicano: an Annotated Bibliography of Chicano Art, 1965-1981; the Chicano Anthology Index; the Chicana Studies Index: Twenty Years of Gender Research, 1971-1991; and Hispanic Mental Health Research: A Reference Guide, covering 1920-1980


The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V?func=native-link&resource=UMI01509


HAPI is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.


Ethnic Newswatch
http://searchtools.lib.umich.edu/V?func=native-link&resource=UMI01508

A full text database of 200 publications of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish, with titles in both languages. Includes more than 100,000 articles in Spanish and over 400,000 in English.


 

Other Resources

Aztlán: A Journal of Chicano Studies

Established in 1970, Aztlán is the journal of record in its field and publishes high-quality, original research relevant to or informed by the Chicano experience. Issued semi-annually, the interdisciplinary, refereed journal has a focus on scholarly essays in the humanities, social sciences, and arts, but also publishes thematic clusters of shorter articles in its dossier section, an artist’s communiqué, and a review section. Aztlán seeks ways to bring Chicano studies into critical dialogue with Latino, ethnic, American, and global studies.


The Black Mexico Home Page

http://www.mexconnect.com/mex_/feature/ethnic/bv/vaughnindex.html

The purpose of these web pages is to introduce you to the culture and unique experience of Mexicans of African descent. If you are like most people, you probably have never heard of Afro-Mexicans and are completely unaware that they exist. If you fall into this category, these pages will hopefully be quite a learning experience!


We the People: Hispanics in the United States
http://www.census.gov/prod/2004pubs/censr-18.pdf

This report provides a portrait of the Hispanic-origin population in the United States and discusses some of the Hispanic or Latino groups within this population at the national level.  It is part of the Census 2000 Special Reports series that presents several demographic, social, and economic characteristics collected from Census 2000.


 

BIBLIOGRAPHY OF CHICANAS IN THE CHICANO MOVEMENT
http://www.chicano.ucla.edu/library/Chicanasmovement.html

The purpose of this bibliography is to identify mujeres involved in various Raza movements.


The Brown Berets: Young Chicano Revolutionaries
http://www.fightbacknews.org/2003winter/brownberets.htm

A group of young Chicano revolutionaries from the barrios of the Southwest fighting for the self-determination of the people. Organized in barrios, published the newspaper La Causa, ran a free clinic and fought against police brutality as well as against the U.S. war in Vietnam.


Chuck's Profile

Profile Image
Charles Ransom
 

Library Help

 

see http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask/ for additional methods of contact

 

    Google Search

    Contact

    We welcome your feedback on our web site.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

    ©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip