Checking out a BookGet ThisNew Tools in MirlynSearching in MirlynYour Library Account
1 - Search Tools2 - Find Newspapers3 - Scholarly vs. Popular4 - Find Full-Text (MGetIt)
This is the "English 125 - Home" page of the "English 125 McDonnell" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

English 125 McDonnell   Tags: course_guide, english125, research, subject:english course:125, ugl, undergrad, undergraduate  

Resources and Services for English 125
Last Updated: Oct 21, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/english125_mcdonnell Print Guide RSS Updates

English 125 - Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Guide

This guide is designed introduce the library to undergraduate students at The University of Michigan and to act as a basic guide for undergraduate research.

 

 

    Library Session Evaluation Form

Library Session Evaluation Form

Please let us know what you think of the library workshops after you have attended one.

 

Welcome to the Library

English 125

Instructor: Andrea McDonnell
Librarian:  Harold Tuckett

This section of English 125 will investigate the notion of gossip—who does it, when does it occur, and how do we recognize it.  We will draw upon material from a variety of disciplines, including sociology, anthropology, women’s studies, and communications, in order to investigate the ways in which gossip has been studied.  Using this literature, along with popular novels, television programs, and tabloid magazines, we will investigate the social functions of gossip, the gendered discourse that surrounds this form of speech, and the potential political implications that gossip brings to bear in our contemporary media landscape.  Throughout, we will develop new strategies for writing about our reflections, analyses, and perspectives.  By the end of this course, you will have developed a deeper understanding of gossip and the skills to communicate this understanding in writing.

 

Try These Databases

•   MLA International Bibliography (Literature)
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28215

•   Communication and Mass Media Complete (Communication and Media Studies)
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28255

•   PsycINFO  (Psychology)
     http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27347

•    Sociological Abstracts (Sociology)
      http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/27171

•    Women's Studies International (Women’s and Gender Studies)
      http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/28473

Harold's Profile

 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip