Health Statistics

The BEAM (Bacteria, Enterics, Amoeba, and Mycotics) Dashboard is an interactive tool to access & visualize data from the System for Enteric Disease Response, Investigation, & Coordination (SEDRIC). It provides timely data on pathogen trends & serotype details to inform work to prevent illnesses from food & animal contact. Currently, the dashboard focuses on data for Salmonella, Shiga toxin-producing E. coli (STEC), Shigella and Campylobacter bacteria & multistate outbreaks, but will eventually include additional pathogens, antimicrobial resistance data, & epidemiologic data from outbreak investigations.

Data visualization tools that present current national estimates of cancer incidence, mortality, & prevalence.

Interactive maps & data, including information on the ACA.

Documents variations in how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States, using Medicare data.

Provides easy form and database construction, data entry, and analysis with epidemiologic statistics, maps, and graphs.

Displays various statistics about global indicators and the world's countries, such as "Is child mortality falling?" & the health & wealth of nations.

How do countries compare in nutrient availability? A project of IHME & UN FAO.

Compiles data sources on the current global state of infectious diseases and their effects on human and animal health.

Infographics from the Kaiser Family Foundation.

Provides information on how well the U.S. healthcare system is performing in terms of quality & cost. Includes excellent visualizations of health care spending, access & affordability, & more.

Many data sets include data visualizations, under the Gallery heading on the left of each page.

Free and easily accessible data provided in innovative ways to visualize complex health issues in the U.S. and abroad.

The 7th edition of the IDF Diabetes Atlas. Includes an Interactive map.

Build a custom report compiling health-related data for a single state or multiple states.

A collection of some of the best mapping tools for community development & health. Many are interactive & let you create your own maps.

From the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

An online data & mapping tool & analytics platform with US national demographics, real estate, health, jobs, & more. Look for their COVID-19 Mortality Risk Calculator & Risk maps for the US.

Database of the weekly Nationally Notifiable Disease Surveillance System (NNDSS) reports for the U.S. (Level 3 data); a major part of these data standardized for online access (Level 2 data); & a subset of the U.S. data cleaned further to study the impact of vaccination programs in the U.S. (Level 1 data).

View resistance maps by specific bacteria.

From the World Development Indicators, The World Bank

A web-compliant application that enables the visualization of socioeconomic information in Europe.

From the Commonwealth Fund.

Explore the delivery on international commitments made in direct support of the MDGs.

A collection of world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.

Choose from indicators such as health & family planning on the interactive map, data visualization, & more. From the Population Reference Bureau.

Provides data by country of health care coverage, including tobacco control, family planning, access to essential medicines, and much more, from the World Health Organization.

Gallery of US census data visualizations, from shifting occupations to Hispanic population by origin.

A blog that explores how statisticians, designers, data scientists, & others use analysis, visualization, & exploration to understand data & ourselves.

Makes large datasets easy to explore, visualize, and communicate. As charts and maps animate over time, the changes in the world become easier to understand.

Understand & compare the health status & health risks in selected cities. Created by the NYU Dept. of Population Health, with support from the RWJ Foundation. Launched in early 2017 in four cities: Flint, MI; Kansas City, KS; Providence, RI; & Waco, TX, new cities will be added soon.

Data on U.S. states, counties, cities, & metropolitan areas, in a variety of areas, including crime, health, & religion. & social welfare.

AHRQ’s database on Social Determinants of Health (SDOH), created under a project funded by the Patient Centered Outcomes Research (PCOR) Trust Fund.

Food environment factors, such as store/restaurant proximity, food prices, food & nutrition assistance programs, & community characteristics, interact to influence food choices & diet quality.

Simplifies the understanding of health topics by visualizing anatomy, conditions & treatments, providing new ways to augment healthcare applications.

Provides information on low-cost mapping & visualization tools.Originally developed by the Natl Library of Med., now maintained by Birds Eye View

A tool that helps researchers to visualize socioeconomic data at the community level. From the U of Wisconsin & the NIH.

Data visualization is a rich & diverse set of practices, methodologies & tools. Contact the library for help at libvisualization@umich.edu.