Library Contact
Edras Rodriguez Torres
Contact:
110 D North
Hatcher Graduate Library
913 South University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
Hatcher Graduate Library
913 South University Ave
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 647-1726
Digitized Primary Sources
- Archivo Histórico de Revistas Argentinas (AhiRa)Collection of digitized periodicals that represent significant moments in the development of cultural journalism in Argentina, accompanied by indexes, essays and critical articles.
- Castro Speech DatabaseThis database includes speeches, interviews, etc., by Fidel Castro from 1959 to 1996. All texts are in English.
- Classic Mexican Cinema This link opens in a new windowCollection of popular movie periodicals including Cinema Reporter (1943-1965); Cine Mundial (1954-1955); El Cine Gráfico from 1935; El Mundo Ilustrado (1902-1910) and Cinelandia (1931-1947). This collection also includes dozens of film flyers, as well as the personal scrap books of Fernando de Fuentes (1894-1958).
- Colonial State PapersProvides access to primary source documents from the 16th to the 18th centuries. The earliest English settlements in North America, encounters with Native Americans, piracy in the Atlantic and Caribbean, trade in slaves and English conflicts with the Spanish & French are all covered in this database. Combines two resources: CO 1: Privy Council and related bodies: America and West Indies, Colonial Papers and The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America & the West Indies, 1574-1739.
- A Colony In Crisis: The Saint-Domingue Grain Shortage Of 1789Provides online access to both the French originals and the English translations of key primary sources dealing with the grain shortage faced by the colony of Saint-Domingue in 1789.
- Confidential Print: Latin America, 1833-1969 This link opens in a new windowContent ranges from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties issued by the British Government.
- A Continent Divided: The U.S. - Mexico WarSite devoted to documenting the 1846-1848 war. Includes primary source documents from the collections at the University of Texas Arlington.
- Cuban Heritage Collection- University of MiamiLinks to digital collections with digital manuscripts, photographs, letters, maps and other resources held in the University of Miami Libraries Cuban Heritage Collection.
- Digital Archive of the Guatemalan National Police Historical ArchiveDigitized documents from the Guatemalan National Police Historical Archive (AHPN). Consists of more than 10,000,000 scanned images that cover topics including Guatemalan history, human rights and sexually transmitted disease experiments performed at the behest of the United States government in the 1940s.
- Digital Library of the CaribbeanThe Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA)Contains themed collections of more than 35,000 declassified documents that led to U.S. policy decisions related to Afghanistan, El Salvador, Iran, Nicaragua, the Philippines, South Africa, the Berlin Crisis, the Cuban Missle Crisis, and more.
- Documents of 20th-Century Latin American and Latino ArtThis digital archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
- European Views of the Americas: 1493 to 1750Database based on the authoritative bibliography 'European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed in Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750.'It contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery.
- Feminism in Cuba, 1898-1958 Digital ArchiveThis collection draws on rich primary sources-texts, personal letters, journal essays, radio broadcasts, memoirs from women’s congresses-which allow these women to speak in their own voices. The documents, most of which are in Spanish, fall into three categories: works by feminists about feminists and their causes, works by men on the status of women, and literary works by feminist writers that illustrate or discuss the condition of women.
- Foreign Relations between the U.S. and Latin America and the Caribbean States, 1930-1944 This link opens in a new windowThis collection consists of materials pertaining to political relations between the U.S. and countries of Latin America and the Caribbean. In particular, it documents the U.S. shift to maintain its influence in Latin America through Pan-Americanism, support for strong local leaders, the training of national guards, economic and cultural penetration, Export-Import Bank loans, financial supervision, and political subversion.
- Foreign Relations of the United StatesThe Foreign Relations of the United States series is the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication.
- Latin American Anarchist and Labour Periodicals This link opens in a new windowDigital archive of periodicals pertaining to the anarchist and anarcho-syndicalist period in the history of Latin American labor movements.
- Catálogo Colectivo de Impresos LatinoamericanosA union catalog of the printed heritage of Latin America and the Philippines before 1851.
- Making of the Modern World: The Goldsmiths'-Kress Library of Economic Literature 1450-1850Full-text of more than 60,000 books, published from 1450-1850, with a focus on economics in the broadest sense. Topics covered include agriculture, commerce, finance, manufacturing, politics, slavery, social conditions, trade, and transportation.
- Primeros Libros de las Américas: Impresos Americanos del Siglo XVI en las Bibliotecas del MundoCollection of the digitized copies of books printed in the Americas before 1601.
- Slavery, Abolition and JusticeThis resource is designed as an important portal for slavery and abolition studies, bringing together documents and collections covering an extensive time period 1490-2007, from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world. Close attention is being given to the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
- Slavery and Anti-SlaveryIncludes documents from the United States and Europe, as well as other parts of the world. In addition to newspaper collections and books published in the antebellum era, Slavery and Anti-Slavery contains documents from several archives originally available only on microfilm.
- Todopatrimonio.comGathers documents and publications related to cultural patrimony. Includes a directory of journals and a calendar of conferences and other events.
- Archives of Latin American and Caribbean History, Sixteenth to Twentieth CenturyContains over 1.3 million pages of primary source material from archives in the United States and Europe. The historical collections include original manuscripts, signed letters, expedition records, reports, maps, diaries, descriptions of voyages, ephemera, and more.
How to Search for Primary Sources in the U-M Library Catalog
You can enhance your searches in Library Catalog Search by using subject terms that describe materials by format. For example, if you enter your topic as a keyword in advanced search, you can also add subject terms that will specify a type of material related to that topic.
You can also add date ranges (e.g., 19th century) and geographic regions (Latin America) as subject terms to focus in on the time period or area you are researching: e.g., biography AND “19th century” AND Argentina.
Subject Terms that specify format:
- archival resources
- archives
- atlases
- bibliography
- biography
- broadsides
- case studies
- charts, diagrams
- concordances
- correspondence
- diaries
- dictionaries
- encyclopedias
- handbooks, manuals, etc.
- illustrations
- indexes
- manuscripts—catalogs
- maps
- newspapers
- periodicals
- personal narratives
- photograph collections
- pictorial works
- portraits
- sermons
- sources
- speeches in Congress
- speeches, addresses, etc.
- statistics