This is the "Home" page of the "Grants and Fundraising" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Grants and Fundraising   Tags: best_bet, fellowships, funding, general_information_sources, grants, grants_and_fundraising, philanthropy, proposal_writing, scholarships  

Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research on grant-seeking. This includes finding funders, proposal writing, university processes, and related topics. Online and print resources on grant-getting are included.
Last Updated: May 22, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/grants Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Foundations/Grants Services

Email us for help with:

Individual or group orientations to Grant-Seeking Resources

Access to multiple grant databases

Individual consultations to find funders/sponsors

Assistance with research on individual foundations

Department- or discipline-based educational programs:

  • Karen Downing - Social Sciences and Community Non-Profit grant-seeking kdown@umich.edu
  • Paul Grochowski - Sciences and Engineering grocho@umich.edu
  • Phil Hallman - Arts and Humanities phallman@umich.edu
  • Merle Rosenzweig - Health Sciences oriley@umich.edu
 

The Foundation Center

The Graduate Library houses a Foundation Center Funding Information Network collection devoted to foundations and grant-seeking resources. The print collection is located in the Reference Reading Room on the second floor of Hatcher North. This collection is open to the public as well as to the University community.  Additionally, three databases are accessible within the walls of the Library via: http://fconline.foundationcenter.org/fin/

ORSP

The Office of Research and Sponsored Projects administers grants from external funders for the entire University. They also maintain the SAW database.

Office of Foundation Relations

The Office of Foundation Relations has many useful resources for faculty at the University.

 

  Your Thoughts?

Let's hear from YOU!

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Funding Databases

Michigan Grants Opportunities Online

Electronic Grants Administration & Management System (EGrAMS) is an electronic resource for finding grants in the state of Michigan.

EGrAMS tutorial!

COS/Pivot

A directory of researcher profiles and research funding opportunities combining COS Funding Opportunities and COS Scholar Universe. More than 22,000 records representing over 400,000 funding opportunities from all types of funders. Updated daily.
Authentication required. For University of Michigan affiliates only OR use within the Library.

COS/Pivot Tutorials!

COS/Pivot YouTube Instruction Videos!

Sponsored Programs Information Network (SPIN)

NOTE: SPIN is transitioning to a new search engine. It will be available after the New Year.

SPIN is a searchable database that is targeted primarily to institutions of higher education. It currently contains information from more than 2,500 different sponsoring agencies, which comprise more than 11,000 separate funding opportunities. 
Authentication required. For University of Michigan affiliates only OR use within the Library.
SPIN tutorial!

Foundation Directory Online (FD Online)

 

 

 


Foundation Grants to Individuals Online (GTIO)

Published by The Foundation Center, FD Online is the most comprehensive database for finding foundation support. FD Online includes records for 100,000 grantmakers and over 500,000 grants. Updated weekly.
Authentication required.
Foundation Directory Online Guided Tour

Published by The Foundation Center, GTIO provides funding opportunities from nearly 2,000 programs that fund individual grantseekers.
Authentication required. Building access only, in the Hatcher Shapiro Complex.
Grants to Individuals Online tutorial! 

European Foundation Center The EFC is a membership association of foundations and corporate funders that supports the work of its members. This is a page they have put together that has links to lists of foundations operating all over the world, including Europe and Latin America.
Grants.gov (Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance) A searchable database of every federal funding program available. Records include program scope, eligibility requirements, deadlines, and contacts.
Guidestar Premium

GuideStar's database contains data on more than 900,000 public charities, approximately 118,000 private foundations, and nearly half a million other exempt organizations in the United States. Federal 990 forms can be accessed through Guidestar.
Authentication required for UM affiliates OR use within the Library.

Exempt Organizations Select Check List of all tax-exempt organizations in the U.S., as recognized by the Internal Revenue Service. Indicates what portion of a contribution to an organization is tax deductible.
The Foundation Center A comprehensive source for news and information on U.S.-based foundations. Resources include: searchable archives of Philanthropy News Digest, Foundation Finder, Philanthropy Search Engine for the web (Sector Search), 990-PF forms, a virtual classroom with online tutorials for proposal writing, budgeting and more.
Directory of Non-Profit Organizations in SE Michigan Directory of non-profit organizations in SE Michigan, including Washtenaw County, provided by NEW, Nonprofit Enterprise at Work.
 Philanthropy InSight A global data visualization tool that allows one to map grant-maker and grant recipient data over a variety of health, socio-economic, demographic and educational data.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Karen Downing
Contact Info
209 Hatcher Library
Phone: 734.615.8610
Send Email

Library Contact

Librarian

Profile Image
Philip Hallman
Contact Info
6372 North Quad,
105 S. State Street
734/615-0445
Send Email

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Merle Rosenzweig
Contact Info
Taubman Health Sciences Library
1135 E. Catherine,
Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
734-615-8923
Send Email
 

Library Help

The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.

See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.

 

Additional Assistance

Significant contributions to this resource guide were made by Jen Bonnet, University Library Associate. Feel free to contact her with any questions at jlbonnet@umich.edu.

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip