This is the "Home" page of the "Spanish Civil War Materials in the Labadie Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Spanish Civil War Materials in the Labadie Collection   Tags: european_studies, history, social_sciences  

Lists various primary sources (by format) which can be found in the Joseph A. Labadie Collection.
Last Updated: Apr 7, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/spanish-civil-war Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection History

Joseph A. Labadie Collection’s holdings on the Spanish Civil War (1936-39)

Books, pamphlets, and serials, together with ephemera (clippings, announcements, leaflets) were collected in source by the first Curator of the Labadie, Agnes Inglis, because of the participation of Spanish anarchists in national life before the War and their divided attitude toward the Loyalist government during the conflict. As the Communists gained a stronger hand in the Loyalist coalition, they were able to purge both the anarchists and dissident socialists and especially the Trotskyists. Inglis avidly documented these developments, obtaining material of the utmost rarity now. She also collected pamphlets and serials from other radical sources, such as the Communists themselves and the fellow-travelers, the liberal and labor proponents of interventions, and even occasionally adherents of the Nationalist cause. From 1939 on Inglis documented the fate of refugees. The manuscripts cover Emma Goldman’s participation.

In 1989 the Library purchased for the Labadie Collection the Lois Orr papers consisting of books, pamphlets, serials, documents, leaflets, posters, personal correspondence, memorabilia, and typescripts of the ordeals experienced by Lois and her husband Charles. In 1936 the couple went to Spain, where they became partisans of the POUM (Partido Obrero de Unificación Marxista) in Barcelona. During the May Days of 1937, when the Communists eliminated the Trotskyist and anarchist elements in the Loyalist government, the Orrs were arrested and imprisoned by the KGB. Upon fleeing Spain they worked briefly in socialist journalism in Paris before returning to the United States for labor organizing in the South.

Two University of Michigan professors, Leland Stowe and Cecil Eby, also contributed books to this collection.

Library Contact

Profile Image
Julie Herrada
Contact Info
Curator of the Labadie Collection
Send Email

Library Contact

 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 license. For details and exceptions, see the Library Copyright Statement.

©2014, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip