Links to reports, data, resources and services that can help you with your classes and research in the Applied Climate program.
Last Updated: Sep 24, 2014
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Use these databases to search for scholarly articles. If you are looking for a specific journal or book, please search in Mirlyn, our online catalog.
Coverage of trade, technical, and scientific literature in water resources and supplies, water quality, water and waste analysis, water treatment, underground services and water use, sewage, industrial effluent, and the effects of pollution.
- Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA)
Devoted exclusively to research and policy on the contamination of oceans, seas, lakes, rivers, and estuaries.
- Engineering Index (Compendex)
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
- Google Scholar (with "Availability at UMichigan" links)
Google's scholarly searching with MGetIt links to UM Library's holdings.
- MGA (Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts)
Contains citations, with abstracts for most years, to journals and series in meteorology, climatology, atmospheric chemistry and physics, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and related environmental sciences. Updated monthly.
- ProQuest Science Collection
Searches 12 ProQuest databases in the natural sciences: AGRICOLA, Aqualine, BioOne Abstracts & Indexes, Environmental Engineering Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, GeoRef, Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts, MGA, NTIS, PQ Dissertations & Theses, PQ Research Library, Zoological Record Plus.
Covers journals, patents, and websites (16,500+ titles) from 4,000+ publishers. Coverage mainly from 1995 on with limited earlier coverage. Searchable by cited-reference (forward citation searching).
- Web of Science
Combines three citation indexes--Arts & Humanities, Science Expanded, and Social Sciences--which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work, as well as searching by subject, author, journal, and author address. Covers 8,400+ journals.
- Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change
The entries in this encyclopedia cover a vast range of topics affecting global warming and climate change. Also included in the work are a chronology of climate change, resource guide, glossary, and appendix of charts and table graphically presenting relevant data.