DatabasesDigital CollectionsJournalsLinks
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 

Taubman Medical Library Rare Book Room  Tags: health_sciences  

A guide to the historical collections in the Rare Book Room and suggested resources on the History of Medicine.
Last update: Apr 24th, 2009 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=19253  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Home            Print Page
  
 

Location

The Rare Book Room is located in Room 5919 of the Taubman Medical Library which is part of the University of Michigan's medical campus.

Address
Taubman Medical Library
1135 E. Catherine St.
Ann Arbor, Michigan 48109-2038

Telephone
734-763-3071 (Reference)
734-764-1210 (General Information)

To find the library, directions (click on Library name) and maps are available. Parking near the library is limited.  Visitors may wish to use buses instead.

 

Hours

Materials from the Rare Book Room may be used in the Taubman Medical Library Reference Office from 8:30 am to 4:30 pm Monday through Friday through most of the year; please check the library hours for any closures for holidays or other reasons.

Materials may be requested at the Reference Desk in person.

 

About the Rare Book Room

Image: Dance of Death from the Alfred Scott Warthin Collection
from the Aldred Scott Warthin Collection

 

The Alfred Taubman Medical Library Rare Book Room serves as a resource for researchers in the history of medicine. It contains approximately 6,300 medical works of scholarly significance, original descriptions of important medical discoveries, and classic accounts of the evolution of modern medicine.

With titles dating from 1470 to the early 20th century, the collections consist primarily of pre-1850 imprints and includes

  • 82 incunabula
  • medical fugitive sheets
  • manuscripts
  • letters
  • medical cartoons
  • medical portraits
  • medical illustrations
  • 52 medical magical amulets
  • medical artifacts

The collections are almost all cataloged and represented in the University of Michigan’s online catalog Mirlyn

From its early beginnings the Rare Book Room has benefited from a number of generous donations and the continuing transfer of volumes from the Taubman Medical Library stacks. Thus the collections cover a broad range of medical subjects. Particular strengths have developed in

  • anatomy
  • surgery
  • homeopathy
  • pharmacy and materia medica
  • obstetrics and gynecology
  • American medical literature from the early 1800s
  • cardiology
  • pathology
  • hernia repair
      
     
     

    Rare Books Librarian

     

    Barbara Shipman


    My Contact Info:
    Taubman Medical Library
    University of Michigan
    1135 E. Catherine
    Ann Arbor, MI 48109-2038
    734-936-1398

     

    Email Me

     

    My Links:
    My Profile & Guides

     

    My Subjects:
    History of Medicine,
    Biological Chemistry, Cell & Developmental Biology, Microbiology & Immunology, Molecular & Behavioral Neuroscience, Molecular & Integrative Physiology, Pharmacology

     

    Guide Created by

    Nadia J. Lalla
    Interim Collections Coordinator
    Health Sciences Libraries
    The University of Michigan

     

    MTagger

    Coming soon

    Site Feedback

    Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

    Copyright

    Creative Commons

    Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

    © 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

    Description

      Loading content... please wait