This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Comm 828 Historical Approaches to Media and Technology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Comm 828 Historical Approaches to Media and Technology   Tags: course_guide  

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/comm828 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Getting Started

UM Library Gateway (http://lib.umich.edu/) The best place to begin your research! Use the library website to search for primary sources, books, articles, DVDs, CDs and more.

Mirlyn The UM Library catalog – search here for books, films, music and journal titles (not articles). Askwith Media Library collections are included within Mirlyn.

When searching Mirlyn for primary sources, some suggested keywords to add to your search: "personal narratives," correspondence, letter or letters, diary or diaries. Also remember newspapers in print and on microfilm, in addition to electronically; print and microfilm allows you to look at advertisements of the time. For more Mirlyn search tips, see "Search Tips" tab.

Labadie Collection/UM Special Collections Library The Special Collections Library holds internationally recognized collections of books, serials, ancient and modern manuscripts, posters, playbills, photographs, pamphlets, artwork, and other materials. Includes the Labadie Collection of social protest material. Located on the 7th floor of the Hatcher Graduate Library.

Bentley Historical Library Located on north campus, the Bentley houses Michigan state historical collections along with university records and archival materials.


Not sure where to start? Take a look at a subject guide!

  • UM Library Guides Search for all guides and how-tos available through the library - we have guides on citation styles, citation management software, different software applications, and all kinds of subjects, from astronomy to psychology, sociology, African Studies, etc. Search for what you want, or browse by subject or title.

Shevon's Profile

Profile Image
Shevon Desai
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
734-764-1313
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip