This is the "News Sources" page of the "COMM 488 Election coverage: Democracy, Media and Message" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

COMM 488 Election coverage: Democracy, Media and Message   Tags: course_guide  

This guide offers useful resources specific Graham Griffith's Election Coverage course, winter 2011.
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2011 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/comm488 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

News Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Selected News Databases

  • CQ (Congressional Quarterly) Voting and Elections 
    Includes articles, commentary and statistics on the 2010 elections. Click on the "2010 Elections" link on the left side of the page, then click on "Election Results" link within 2010 electoral results maps on the left.
  • Access World News (Newsbank)    
    Full text of over 600 US and over 250 foreign (Eng language) newspapers. Includes Ann Arbor News, New York Times (2000- ), Detroit Free Press (1982- ), Detroit News (1999- ), Chicago Tribune (1985- ), The Times (London), etc. 1982-
  • LexisNexis Academic    
    News, business and trade magazines, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers; transcripts of news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, CNBC, CNN, Fox, NBC, NPR, and PBS.
  • Vanderbilt TV News Archive View nightly news programs from NBC (back to 1968) and CNN (back to 1995). Search through bibliographic information for all 3 broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, and NBC). Searchable abstracts; some streaming video, and tape loans on request.
  • Politico.com Specific coverage of 2010 elections. Search for races by state; browse through 2010 public opinion polls focusing on politics.
  • Washington Post - Politics section; includes election results, campaign spending information, and recent political news.
  • New York Times - Politics section; includes political news, election results by House, Senate and state, political blogs.
 

Political Opinion Sites

Political Opinion Blogs

A list of selected liberal and conservative blogs, with links to each.

Classifying Media as Liberal or Conservative

Click here for a list of periodicals generally seen to be either liberal or conservative.

How Do I Determine the Political Slant of a Newspaper or Magazine?

Shevon's Profile

Profile Image
Shevon Desai
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
734-764-1313
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip