This is a guide to finding reviews of a variety of cultural materials; books, film, music, theater, & art.
Last Updated: Apr 21, 2015
Contact a librarian in your area of interest!
Strategies for finding reviews often differ by subject, so we have librarians in various subject areas who can help you find what you need.
- London Review of Books
This includes complete online access to over 12,500 full-text reviews, essays, letters, and poems.
- New York Review of Books
Coverage: 1963- present
Book reviews, books news, essays, and book announcements.
- New York Times Book Review
Coverage: 1896- present (available through multiple electronic resources depending on date)
Book reviews and essays. This is a great source for finding older book reviews.
- Times Literary Supplement
Coverage: 1902-present (available 1902-2005 electronic, other dates covered in print in microfilm)
Book reviews and essays. Another great source for finding older book reviews.
In Mirlyn, the library's online library catalog, you can find print book review sources using various subject phrases, like:
- Book reviews
- Book reviews -- Indexes
Here are several resources that are international in scope (and the first two cover a large time span):
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review
Publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies (including archaeology), from 1990-present.
- H-Net Online Book Reviews
Scholarly international book reviews in the humanities and social sciences. Search for a title, or browse by topic.
- Informationsmittel für Bibliotheken : IFB
Reviews of scholarly books on all areas of the humanities and social sciences. Although most of the titles reviewed are in the German language, increasingly works in other languages are also being reviewed in this source.
- Magazine littéraire
French literary magazine with extensive book reviews, including fiction, nonfiction, poetry and detective novels.
- The Medieval Review
Formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review, this site publishes reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies, a field it interprets as broadly as possible.
Here is a demonstration of how to search for book reviews in JStor.
- Book Review Index Online
An index to book reviews that includes more then 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, including refereed journals, general interest publications, and newspapers.
- Book Review Digest Plus
Index to reviews of fiction and non-fiction books appearing in 8,000 periodicals published in the U.S., Canada and Great Britain. Includes links to full text of over 3,700 of the reviewed books available in the HathiTrust Digital Library.
- Web of Science
Coverage: 1900- varies by database
Includes book reviews from arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
To find reviews, type the name of the book in the Topic line and on the second line, select "Document Type" from the drop down menu, and click on "Book Review."
Coverage: Varies by title
To find reviews, click on Advanced Search. Type title of book in search box, and under "Narrow by" click the box that says Review.
- LexisNexis Academic
Coverage: 1980- (varies by title)
Provides full-text access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information, including hundreds of U.S. and foreign newspapers.
To find reviews, click on the News tab in the left sidebar, then click on the "All News" link. Type the title of the book in the search box and in the Article Type box, click on Book Reviews.
- Literature Resource Center: Reference Works
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
To find reviews, click on the link to Advanced Search, enter the author's name or the name of a book of interest. In the section "by document type" select Book Review.
- Periodicals Index Online
Indexes over 14 million articles in more than 4,250 humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 2000.
To find reviews, click on Article Search. Next, type the title of the book in the Keyword search bar. Lastly, in the Search Option box on the right, click on the box next to Book Reviews.
Indexes journals, magazines, and newspapers. Many articles are available fulltext.
To find reviews, go to "Advanced Search," type your book title in quotations, and then select "review" as the "document type."