This is the "Getting Started" page of the "COMM 111: Workshop on Managing the Information Environment" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

COMM 111: Workshop on Managing the Information Environment   Tags: comm_111, communication_studies, course_guide, subject:communications course:111 instructor:hutchinson  

This guide provides an introduction to the MLibrary research environment for students taking Communication Studies 111.
Last Updated: Feb 7, 2013 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/comm111 Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books and Articles

Mirlyn: The MLibrary Catalog (Books!)

Describes University Library holdings in all formats (books, journals, pamphlets, sound recordings, videos,etc.). To find items, note library location(s) and call number.

ArticlesPlus (Search for articles!)

Click on the "ArticlesPlus" tab above the search box on the library website. ArticlesPlus is your gateway to finding all sorts of articles, including ones from scholarly journals, newspapers, magazines, and trade publications. Think of it as the "Google" for the library world!

Communication and Mass Media Complete

Provides coverage of more than 500 journals in the communication and mass media fields, including full-text for more than 230 journals. Coverage for significant titles in the field goes back to their very first issue (as far back as 1915).

PsycInfo

Coverage: 1887- Description: PsycINFO contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Journal coverage includes international material selected from more than 1,700.

ProQuest

Includes thousands of general interest academic and popular periodicals, many in full text, plus business journals and newspapers.

General OneFile

Provides indexing for over 8,000 scholarly and general interest journals and newspapers, with full text articles included for over 4,200 of them. Combines the content of Computer Database, Expanded Academic ASAP, General Reference Center Gold, etc.

Google Scholar

The Google Scholar search engine that searches for scholarly documents on the World Wide Web, with the added feature of MGet IT links from University of Michigan at Ann Arbor that connect you to the online and print versions held by the University Library.

RefWorks

Allows users to create personal citation databases by importing references from text files or online databases. Also facilitates manuscript preparation, allowing for automatic formatting of the paper and the bibliography. (Requires personal registration.). Click on the Refworks tab on this page for more detailed help!

Film & Video Studies Resources

Recommended resources related to film and video studies. May be useful if you are writing about topics related to television or movies.

Never Used the Library Website? Try the Searchpath Tutorial

  • Searchpath
    Welcome to Searchpath, your first stop for getting information about using library resources, brought to you by Shapiro Undergraduate Library. Learn how to find books, databases, movies and more!

Shevon's Profile

Profile Image
Shevon Desai
Contact Info
209 Hatcher North
734-764-1313
Send Email
 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip