New Books at the Grad
Below is a brief listing of new books we have received in the subject of English Language and Literature.
Loading...
Library Help
The current on-duty librarian for the library-wide Ask a Librarian IM service is available when you see a green dot at the top of the box.
See http://www.lib.umich.edu/ask for additional contact methods.
Simple Research Aids
- Research Log Excel TemplateAn MS Excel template for keeping track of & organizing your research process as it unfolds article by article.
- Database Search Log TemplateAn MS Excel template for keeping track of Databases search in, keywords used, and results.
How to Use This Guide
This guide is designed to be of use at every level of English Literature study. Students at the beginning of the careers are advised to begin with tabs dedicated to general fields of English study (including the genre-based full text primary source archives, basic reference resources, and article indexes). More specialized resources are organized by tabs with periodic designations.
The most heavily used tools are in the box below.
Please feel free to contact me via email with questions and/or use the "Ask a Librarian" widget below and to the left if you need help.
Essential Tools
- MLA International Bibliography (CSA) - The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
- OCLC WorldCat - Over 62 million records describing books, periodicals, sound recordings, videos, musical scores, archival materials, maps, electronic resources, and much more, in over 400 different languages. Shows what materials are held by over 57,000 libraries worldwide (including most libraries in North America, and the national libraries of Australia and many Western European countries). Incorporates all records from the Research Libraries Group (RLG) Union Catalog (RLIN).
- JSTOR - Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes content from six of the ten JSTOR Multidisciplinary Collections (Arts & Sciences I, II, III, IV, and VII; and Life Sciences) and nearly all of the JSTOR Discipline-Specific Collections (Biological Sciences, Business, Ecology & Botany, Health & General Sciences, Language & Literature, Mathematics & Statistics, and Music).
- Project MUSE - Full-text access to over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics published by Johns Hopkins University Press and other university presses (Duke, Hawaii, Indiana, MIT, Penn State, etc.).
- English Short Title Catalogue (British Library) - The 'English Short Title Catalogue' (ESTC) is a comprehensive, international union catalogue listing early books, serials, newspapers and selected ephemera printed before 1801. It contains catalogue entries for items issued in Britain, Ireland, overseas territories under British colonial rule, and the United States. Also included is material printed elsewhere which contains significant text in English, Welsh, Irish or Gaelic, as well as any book falsely claiming to have been printed in London. The database contains nearly 470,000 entries, and represents the holdings of some 2,000 libraries world-wide.
- COPAC - The COPAC library catalogue gives free access to the merged online catalogues of major University and National Libraries in the UK and Ireland, including the British Library.
Recommended Tools
- ArchiveGrid - Over 60,000 images of original manscripts and printed material related to: Cultural Contacts; Empire Writing; the Invisible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class & Colonialism. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania & South Asia.
- ArticlesPlus - ArticlesPlus is perhaps best described as "Google for the library's online content -- without the ads!". From a simple single search box, ArticlesPlus searches full-text content as well as metadata from a wide variety of sources and returns a list of relevancy-ranked results. For a downloadable list of databases covered by ArticlesPlus, go here (NOTE: MLA International Biography is not searched by ArticlesPlus)
- Year's Work in English Studies - Online access YWES, a review of selected scholarly work about literature written in English.
- Year's Work in Critical and Cultural Theory - Online access to YSCCT, a review of selected scholarly work in the fields of critical and cultural theory.
Connecting with Other U-M Researchers
The University of Michigan campus is large enough and de-centralized enough that scholars across the curriculum often end up working on similar fields of inquiry without knowing it. The following links can help you identify possible partners for collaboration.
* SAW (Sponsored Awards on the Web) is searchable web interface to University's database of sponsored proposal and awards (eResearchPM). SAW contains financial and demographic information relative to awarded proposals submitted through DRDA on a Proposal Approval Form since 1988.
* COS Scholar Universe™ brings a world of research and scholarship to one easily searchable database. With 2 million profiles, it helps researchers and academics connect with colleagues with shared interests while expanding their networks to include previously unknown people working in related fields or in other areas of the world.
Subject Guide |
Contact Info The University of Michigan 209 Hatcher Graduate Library, North 913 S. University Ann Arbor, MI 48109-1190 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides |


Loading...
