Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
Last Updated: Feb 21, 2014
Congratulations for the opportunity to participate some cutting edge research in Science at the University of Michigan! You will find library and librarians your good friends when you take your first step into the fascinating exploration.
"If I have seen further it is only by standing on the shoulders of giants." -- Sir Isaac Newton
Library is a bridge to "the shoulder of giants".
Find the location of the Shapiro Science Library here.
Have a virtual tour of the Shapiro Science Library here.
Here are the top 10 things you should know about the University of Michigan Library. (List compiled by Rebecca Hill and Ye Li)
- MLibrary Gateway
The Library’s gateway where you can find access to resources, policies, contact information, and more. Not sure where to start? Try Search box at the left top of the page.
- Browse by Subject
For a quick list of databases, research guides, and other resources in your subject area, try the Browse feature on the Library’s webpage. Choose your subject from the link above, or from menu at the top of the Library webpages.
- Find the Subject Specialist
Find an individual who specializes in your subject area, or in an unfamiliar area where you could use some help. You may also browse libraries on U-M campus at http://www.lib.umich.edu/libraries .
Mirlyn is our catalog, where you can search the Library’s collection of books, journals, audio/video materials, and electronic resources such as eJournals and eBooks.
Librarians have spent time gathering resources together so that you don’t have to! Find a LibGuide on every subject and resource from Chemistry (http://guides.lib.umich.edu/chemistry) to Zotero (http://guides.lib.umich.edu/zotero).
- Browse Databases on Your Subject
You may browse major databases on your subject by Search Tools via the above link. The database lists are compiled by subject specialists. Need help with using databases? Search in LibGuides or contact your subject specialist.
- Technology Help
Need help with Excel or making posters with Illustrator? Visit the Knowledge Navigation Center in the Hatcher Graduate Library! Staff is standing by to assist you – drop-ins and appointments are both welcome.
The Tech Deck in the Shapiro Undergraduate Library allows you to print posters by appointment – please visit http://www.lib.umich.edu/techdeck for more information or call 734-647-1926.
- MGet It
While the MGet It button within databases will lead you to the full text of an article, MGet It is also a tool that allows you to find access to a citation you already have – just enter the information you have and click “Search.”
- Hatcher Graduate Library Circulation Desk
If you run into any problems with access or privileges you think you should have with the Library, please contact the friendly staff at the Hatcher Circulation Desk (the main desk in the north building) and they’ll assist you!
- Ask a Librarian!
When in doubt, ask! Librarians can be reached in person, by phone, through email, and via instant messaging.