This is the "Criteria by Schools and Colleges" page of the "Selected Tenure and Promotion Criteria at the University of Michigan" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It | Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan

Selected Tenure and Promotion Criteria at the University of Michigan  

Last Updated: May 18, 2010 URL: http://guides.lib.umich.edu/tenure-and-promotion Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Criteria by Schools and Colleges Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

Tenure and promotion at the University of Michigan are based on the University of Michigan Standard Practice Guide, and the University of Michigan Faculty Handbook which is published by the Office of the ProvostIndividual schools, colleges and departments adapt these guidelines to the specific criteria of their disciplines. 

Below are links to the Tenure and Promotion sections from the Standard Practice Guide and the Faculty Handbook.

The University of Michigan Standard Practice Guide

The University of Michigan Faculty Handbook

 Below are links which direct you to the Tenure and Promotion Guidelines for Individual Schools and Colleges.

Taubman College of Architecture |  College of Art and Design | School of Dentistry | School of Education | College of Engineering | School of Information | School of Kinesiology | College of Literature, Science and the Arts | Medical School |  School of Music, Theater and Dance  |  School of Nursing | College of Pharmacy | School of Public Health | School of Social Work

Non-Participating Schools and Colleges

 

 

Tenure and Promotion Guidelines for Selected Schools and Colleges

Individual schools and colleges have different policies regarding public access to their tenure and promotion policies. Some schools provide this information within the contents of their webpages, while others are in varying stages of preparing their tenure information for electronic access. On the other hand, some schools deferred to the Faculty Handbook from the Provost's Office while others declined to address the issue at all. The format of the documents vary according to availability.

College of Literature, Science and the Arts   

 Promotions 

 Evaluations and Renewals (Third Year Review)

Taubman College of Architecture  

  Criteria and Guidelines for Promotion and Tenure Review

School of Art & Design

   School of Art & Design Faculty Handbook

 School of Education

     http://www.soe.umich.edu/faculty/index.html     

     UM Faculty Handbook

 College of Engineering 

     http://www.provost.umich.edu/faculty/promotion_guidelines/

 School of Information

School of Kinesiology 

School of Kinesiology-- Promotion and Tenure Guidelines

School of Music, Theater and Dance 

     Policies and Procedures: A Handbook for Faculty

School of Social Work Faculty Handbook

   https://private.ssw.umich.edu/facHandbook/

   5.40: Promotion and Tenure Preamble and Criteria for Instructional Track Faculty

   5.405: Criteria for Promotion to Full Professor

   5.41: Promotion Preamble and Criteria for Clinical Track Faculty

   5.42: Promotion and Appointment Criteria for Research Scientist Series Faculty

   5.43: Promotion Criteria for Research Faculty  

   5.44: Promotion and Tenure Procedure

   5.45: Promotion and Tenure Timing

   5.46: Promotion and Tenure Committee

   5.47: Selection of External Reviewers for Promotion and Tenure Review

   5.48: Preparation of Information Packets for Internal and External Reviewers 

   5.49: Grievance of Tenure or Promotion Decision  

School of Dentistry

     http://drupal.dent.umich.edu/facultyaffairs/appointments-promotions-tenure

Medical School 

    http://www.med.umich.edu/medschool/faculty/pdf/handbook.pdf    

    http://med.umich.edu/medschool/faculty/app_promo.htm

    http://med.umich.edu/medschool/faculty/career_dev.htm

School of Nursing 

    http://www.nursing.umich.edu/gateway/faculty/faculty-handbook.pdf

College of Pharmacy

    http://sitemaker.umich.edu/cop.handbook/viewfacultyhandbook/da.data/895180/faculty_handbook/facultyhandbook.pdf

School of Public Health

Faculty Appointments and Promotions to Professional, Research Professor, and Research Scientist Rank   

 

Non-Participating Schools and Colleges

The following schools have not provided information for this resource guide:

Ross School of Business

Law School

School of Natural Resources and the Environment

Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy

 

 

Contact

We welcome your feedback on our web site.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 license. Details and exceptions.

©2012, Regents of the University of Michigan

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip