Resources for research in comparative literature, reception studies, translation studies, literary theory, and affiliated discourses.
Last Updated: May 29, 2014
- ARTFL Reference Collection
Selected reference works for French, English, Classical Greek and Latin as well as South Asia.
- Gale Literary Databases
Simultaneous searching of three premier resources: Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and Dictionary of Literary Biography. Provides in-depth information on the lives and writings of nearly 100,000 authors.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Provides online access to complete full text of over 100 reference works. Literature section includes some twenty topical and biographic sources.
- Literary Research Guide: An Annotated Listing of Reference Sources in English Literary Studies (5th Edition)
James L. Harner's guide to reference sources for research in all areas of literary studies.
- Literature Criticism Online
Provides searchable access to volumes from ten different series reproducing excerpts from critical reviews of all kinds and periods of literature, including: Children's Literature Review, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Drama Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400 to 1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Short Story Criticism and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
- Literature Resource Center: Reference Works
Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.
- Middle English Dictionary
This nearly completed monument of medieval scholarship provides a comprehensive analysis of lexicon and usage for the period 1100-1500, based on the analysis of a collection of over three million citations.
- Motif-Index of Folk Literature
Subject index to folktales from around the world.
- Online Index to Hatcher Graduate Library Reference Books
Searchable full text index to 7,500 print reference works shelved in the Hatcher Graduate Library.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Children's Literature
Comprehensively documents and interprets the books read by children throughout the world.
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED, 3rd Edition)
Web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Contains all the second edition entries, which are gradually being supplemented with new revised entries as the third edition is created.
- Oxford Reference Online
Fully indexed, cross-searchable database of about 100 dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Includes subject reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and science.