Christmas music can be challenging to locate because it appears in various places throughout the collection. Music scores are organized according to the performing medium, so all of the Christmas music in the library is not arranged together on the shelf.
To browse the catalog for musical works related to Christmas, do a subject search on "christmas music."
You can narrow your search by adding terms for specific genres or instrumentation. For example, you might try a subject search for the following:
Streaming audio access to the complete catalog of Naxos as well as many other record labels. Has over 550,000 tracks of classical, jazz, and world music.
Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to 86,000 CDs with more than a million tracks, including both standard and rare repertoire. NML provides access to the complete Naxos catalogue, as well as the complete catalogues or selected recordings of over 400 labels such as ARC, Berlin Classics, BIS, Capriccio, Chandos, CPO, EMI Classics, Erato, Haenssler Classic, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naïve, Naxos, Nimbus, Ondine, Teldec, Vanguard Classics, Virgin Classics and Warner Classics. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App / Android App, subscribers can also access the service on the go.
Streaming audio access to nearly 70,000 tracks of American music in a variety of genres, including country, folk, bluegrass, American Indian, blues, gospel, rhythm & blues, and others.
Provides streaming access to more than 120,000 audio tracks, including songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more. The range of genres includes country, folk, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, shape note singing, doo-wop, Motown, R&B, soul, funk, and others. Labels include Rounder Records, Appleseed Recordings, Stax, Specialty Records, Testament Records, McNeil Music, Native Ground Music, Rebel Records, County Records, Smithsonian Folkways, Document Records, and more.
Streaming audio access to more than 60,000 tracks from more than 40 record labels, including EMI, Hyperion, Hänssler, and Vox.
Classical Music Library offers a multi-label collection of music recordings, featuring performances from many independent and major classical labels, including EMI Classics, Hänssler, Hyperion, Virgin Classica, Bridge, Vox, and many others. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
The best approach to finding instrumental music with a Christmas theme is a keyword or subject search combining “christmas” with the instrument(s) needed. For example:
brass quintets christmas
Below are some call number areas where Christmas music for voice(s) is concentrated:
Sacred choral music
M 2065: Christmas works for accompanied chorus (collections)
M 2075: Christmas works for accompanied chorus (separate works)
M 2085: Christmas works for unaccompanied chorus (collections)
M 2095: Christmas works for unaccompanied chorus (separate works)
within M 2110: sacred songs (collections)
M 2114.5: sacred Christmas songs (separate works)
M 2065: sacred songs (collections) -- this area has mostly choral works, but some are solo or would work for solo voice
M 1629.3 .C5: piano/vocal arrangements and fakebooks
piano/vocal and fakebook arrangements can also be found in the Baltimore Collection (ask at the desk if you're not familiar with this collection)
For other vocal works, try a keyword or subject search such as: