MLibrary Home | Mirlyn Search Tools MGet It Ask a Librarian
University of Michigan
Admin Sign In 
Research & Technology Guides Subjects: Humanities

Search:
  |  Return to Homepage
 
Humanities resources

Academic Research with Google
by Karen Reiman-Sendi - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009
This guide discusses options for doing academic resource searching on the Web using Google and special tools offered by Google.
Afro-Americans and the Military, 1939-1945
by Charles Ransom - last updated on Apr 24th, 2009
Bibliography of books and web sites
American Culture
by Charles Ransom - last updated on Jan 30th, 2009
This guide provides suggestions for useful reference works, journal indexes, collections, libraries, and web resources for the study of American Culture.
Architecture
by Rebecca Price - last updated on Nov 10th, 2009
This guide provides descriptions of and, in many cases, access to the most commonly used resources for researching the topic of architecture.
British and American History
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
This guide provides resources for researchers in British and American history.
Central Asian and Caucasian Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009
This guide covers Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Mongolia, Tajikistan, and Turkmenistan.
Classical Studies Resources
by Beau Case - last updated on Jun 17th, 2009
This guide provides some useful suggestions for research in Greek, Roman, and Byzantine literature, history, and archaeology.
Comic Books and Graphic Novels
by Annette Haines - last updated on Jun 30th, 2009
This guide provides useful information about comic books and graphic novels as topics of academic research at the University of Michigan.
Criteria for Web Site Evaluation
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Jan 07th, 2009
Here are some tips on how to evaluate web site information for undergraduate students.
Czech and Slovak Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Apr 29th, 2009
This guide covers the Czech Republic and Slovakia.
East European Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Jul 19th, 2009
This guide covers the westernmost countries of the former Soviet Union, each one of which has a separate page: Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, and Ukraine. Also included in this guide is information on the Romani people.
English 124 - Critical Bibliography
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Mar 10th, 2009
This is a basic search guide created for English 124, section 30 to help students using library resources for their research assignment for this class. Part of this guide focuses on researching topics set in the Victorian Age.
English 125
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on May 04th, 2009
This is a guide designed to offer help and research ideas for students taking English 125.
English 225
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Mar 11th, 2009
This is a guide designed to offer help and research ideas for students taking English 225 Academic Argumentation
English Language & Literature
by Scott Dennis - last updated on Sep 17th, 2009
This research guide provides useful resources for the study of English language and literatures.
Film & Video Links - Askwith Media Library
by Jeff Pearson - last updated on Mar 19th, 2009
A collection of helpful Internet links relating to film & video, compiled by the staff at the Askwith Media Library.
French Language and Literatures
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
German Culture, History, Politics
by Beau Case - last updated on Jun 16th, 2009
This guide provides some key resources for researching German culture, history, and politics. See a related guide at http://guides.lib.umich.edu/content.php?pid=27419.
Germanic Languages & Literatures
by Beau Case - last updated on Jun 16th, 2009
This subject guide provides useful resources for research into Germanic languages and literature.
History 337
by Megan O'Neill, Doreen Bradley - last updated on Nov 04th, 2009
This is a guide for History 337: Black Women in the US Part I (1619-1900). It is for undergraduate History students. This class is cross-listed with CAAS 337 and WOMENSTD 337. The guide was created by Megan O'Neill and Doreen Bradley.
Italian Language, Literature and Culture
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
This resource guide offers suggestions for research in Italian language, literature and culture.
Judaica
by Jonathan Rodgers, Elliot Gertel - last updated on Apr 29th, 2009
A guide to electronic and print resources provided by the University Library's Judaica Unit
Korean Studies
by Yunah Sung - last updated on Sep 30th, 2009
This guide provides selected research resources in the areas of Humanities and Social Sciences on Korean Studies.
Linguistics 375
by Gabriel Duque, Amanda Peters - last updated on Sep 18th, 2009
This guide is designed as a companion Website for students enrolled in "Linguistics 375: Language and the Mass Media" course.
Linguistics Resources
by Jonathan Rodgers - last updated on Sep 22nd, 2009
This is a guide to primarily electronic resources supporting teaching and research in Linguistics. Included are indexes to articles in scholarly journals, online full-text sources, encyclopædias, dictionaries, and other resources on the web.
Medieval and Early Modern Studies
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
This research guide highlights some of the resources in the area of medieval and early modern studies.
Mirlyn Classic
by Julie Piacentine - last updated on Sep 10th, 2009
This is a guide to using Mirlyn Classic, the classic University of Michigan Library Catalog.
Museum Studies
by Beau Case - last updated on Jun 17th, 2009
This research guide provides useful resources for research on museum studies.
Philosophy
by Scott Dennis - last updated on Sep 25th, 2009
Selected online resources useful for philosophical research. (Access limited to current U-M students, faculty and staff unless noted as "Worldwide Internet access".)
Polish Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Apr 29th, 2009
This research guide provides useful resources related to Poland.
RC Core 100:11
by Karen Downing - last updated on Oct 07th, 2009
Seeding the Future: Children's Literature and the Arts of Citizenship
Reference Resources (Humanities and Social Sciences)
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
A more comprehensive collection of reference resources in the humanities and social sciences.
Religious Studies
by Bryan Skib - last updated on Mar 12th, 2009
Important resources for the study of religion at the University of Michigan
Researching and Writing an Architecture Paper
by Rebecca Price - last updated on Aug 03rd, 2009
Some basic information on researching and writing a paper in the field of architecture.
Residential College First Year Seminar
by Karen Reiman-Sendi, Shevon Desai - last updated on Jul 17th, 2009
Course 100-02 with Barbara Sloat, entitled "Medicine and Health: West and East." Library class session held on Wednesday, 1/28/09 with Shevon Desai and Karen Reiman-Sendi.
Russian Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Jun 17th, 2009
This research guide provides resources covering the Russian Federation. Other states that were also part of the Soviet Union are covered by other guides: Guide for Central Asian and Caucasian Studies and Guide for East European Studies.
Scandinavian Studies
by Neil Robinson - last updated on Aug 26th, 2009
Resources in the University Library and on the Web relating to Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden.
Scholarly Databases
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Feb 13th, 2009
Here are some suggestions for subject specific databases for use by undergraduate students.
Search Tools
by Julie Piacentine - last updated on Aug 03rd, 2009
This is a guide to using the Library's Search Tools systems, a portal to library databases, articles, e-journals, online indexes, web resources, and catalogs.
Shoah Foundation's Visual History Archive
by Dave Carter - last updated on Oct 15th, 2009
The USC Shoah Foundation Institute's Visual History Archive makes available over 52,000 video testimonies of Holocaust survivors.
Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009
The Slavic, East European, and Eurasian collection includes roughly 305,000 monographs and 3,200 serials in Russian; Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian; Polish, Czech and Slovak; Armenian and other languages of Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union.
Southeast European Studies
by Janet Crayne - last updated on Aug 03rd, 2009
This guide covers countries in southeastern Europe, including Modern Greece, Albania, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, and countries that comprised former Yugoslavia: Bosnia and Hercegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.
Spanish Language and Literature
by Tom Burnett - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
This research guide provides key resources related to the area of Spanish language and literature.
Stay Alert! Keeping Your Research Up-to-Date
by Karen Reiman-Sendi - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009
Tired of spending your time surfing the web for current research in your social sciences or humanities discipline? This guide will show you some alerting and RSS tools you can use to keep up-to-date in your field.
SWC 200 - New Media Writing
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Feb 10th, 2009
This is a library guide for students enrolled in Sweetland Writing Center 200. It's meant to be an orientation on how to take advantage of many of the resource the University of Michigan Library has to offer. Welcome to the Library!
Taubman Medical Library Rare Book Room
by Nadia J. Lalla - last updated on Apr 24th, 2009
A guide to the historical collections in the Rare Book Room and suggested resources on the History of Medicine.
Top Ten Databases to Start Your Undergraduate Research
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Feb 13th, 2009
Try these databases if you're not sure where to find articles for an undergraduate research project.
Undergraduate Assignment Assistants
by Shapiro Undergraduate Library Reference Staff - last updated on Feb 13th, 2009
Need help with your assignment? This guide provides helpful links and hints for doing academic level research.
Unique Collections on the UM Campus
by Annette Haines - last updated on Nov 04th, 2009
Unusual collections in the UM Library and on the UM Campus (Ann Arbor).


 

MTagger

Coming soon

Site Feedback

Tell us what you think about our new site: What do you like? What don't you like? How we can improve it more? Send your comments using our feedback form.

Copyright

Creative Commons

Except where otherwise noted, this work is subject to a Creative Commons license. Additional permissions are available.

© 2009, Regents of the University of Michigan

Loading content...