Social Sciences resources
Anthropology 298by Harold Tuckett - last updated on May 19th, 2009This is a guide to assist Anthropology 298 students in finding materials to add to the class archive.
Armenian Studiesby Janet Crayne - last updated on Jul 17th, 2009This guide covers materials in Armenian, from Armenia and/or about Armenian topics. For more information please see the Guide for Central Asian and Caucasian Studies.
Communication Studiesby Shevon Desai - last updated on Nov 10th, 2009This guide will help you find resources related to mass media and communication, including health communication, political communication, gender and race, global and new media, media policy, and print and broadcast history, among other topics.
Community Profileby Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 22nd, 2009Navigate American FactFinder; understand the hierarchy of geographic variables and the political nature of subject variables; compare strengths and limitations of the Decennial Census and the American Community Survey for community needs assessment.
Congressional Hearingsby Catherine Morse - last updated on Apr 24th, 2009This guide describes the resource and methods for finding print, microfiche, and online copies of congressional hearings.
East European Studiesby Janet Crayne - last updated on Jul 19th, 2009This guide covers the westernmost countries of the former Soviet Union, each one of which has a separate page: Belarus, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Moldova, and Ukraine. Also included in this guide is information on the Romani people.
Economicsby Catherine Morse - last updated on Apr 23rd, 2009A research guide which draws together some of the best resources for research in the field of Economics.
Elections in the United Statesby Catherine Morse - last updated on Feb 13th, 2009Research procedure for identifying books, journal and newspaper articles, campaign finances, advertising, public opinion polls, and election data.
Electronic Resources for Non-Profit Organizationsby Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 01st, 2009This is a supplemental web page for SW671, SW663, SW664. & SW665. Catherine Christ Lucas, MSW, Executive Director of Nonprofit Alliance, Battle Creek, MI compiled all the data on this Web page. Note 1-3 subtabs under lettered tabs.
Food Studiesby Beau Case - last updated on May 07th, 2009Food Studies is an interdisciplinary field that takes a wide thin slice across the arts, humanities and sciences. Food Studies gathers together knowledge about food as it occurs anywhere in established disciplines, to understand relationships.
Geographyby Timothy Utter - last updated on Oct 15th, 2009Resources at the University of Michigan for research in geography.
Gerontology Resourcesby Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009This guides highlights some of the resources in the Social Work library which deal with gerontology.
Grief and Bereavementby Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 12th, 2009This guide highlights resources available in the Social Work Library and elsewhere concerned with grief and bereavement. It is not comprehensive, but provides a starting point for research. Please contact social.work.library@umich.edu for further help.
Guide to APA Editorial Style for Referencesby Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 16th, 2009This library guide summarizes the key components of citing research in the APA style of citation, commonly referred to as "Reference Citations in Text". The content does not cover all aspects or rules of the APA manuscript or citation style.
Imagesby Rebecca Price - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009A guide to help you find and use visual resources from the University Library. Visit us in the Lower Level of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
Immigrantsby Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 17th, 2009This tutorial outlines strategies for understanding the historic and current impact of the USA Patriot Act and Immigration and Custom Enforcement raids on communities of racial and ethnic identity.
Juvenile Justiceby Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 17th, 2009This research guide highlights some of the resources available in the Social Work Library, on campus, and on the web concerned with juvenile justice.
Korean Studiesby Yunah Sung - last updated on Sep 30th, 2009This guide provides selected research resources in the areas of Humanities and Social Sciences on Korean Studies.
Latino/a Studiesby Charles Ransom - last updated on Feb 25th, 2009The Latina/o Studies Program at the University of Michigan is an inter-disciplinary and pan-Latino program that seeks to understand the history and culture of Latina/os in the United States.
Lawby Julia Proctor - last updated on Sep 16th, 2009The Graduate Library law collection is primarily a collection about law and how it relates to society. The Law Library has a more comprehensive collection.
Mirlyn Classicby Julie Piacentine - last updated on Sep 10th, 2009This is a guide to using Mirlyn Classic, the classic University of Michigan Library Catalog.
Multicultural Contributions to Social Work Historyby Sally Haines - last updated on Oct 03rd, 2009This page, authored by Katherine Goodwin & inspired by Professor Michael Reisch, focuses on the contributions minorities have made to the field of social work. Where space permits, collection descriptions have been taken directly from the finding aid.
Native American Studiesby Charles Ransom - last updated on Jan 30th, 2009Native American Studies is an interdisciplinary study of American Indians (United States). This guide provides key resources for the study of American Indians.
Policy Researcher Tutorialby Sally Haines - last updated on Nov 18th, 2009Library assignment in all sections of Social Work 530 includes a quiz. Please note that there are three to four subtabs under the first four tabs. Altogether here are 31 topics covered in this tutorial.
Political Scienceby Catherine Morse - last updated on Oct 05th, 2009Indexes, reference tools, and full text collections of political and government information.
Psychologyby Darlene Nichols - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009Guide to information resources related to psychology at the University of Michigan Library.
Russian Studiesby Janet Crayne - last updated on Jun 17th, 2009This research guide provides resources covering the Russian Federation. Other states that were also part of the Soviet Union are covered by other guides: Guide for Central Asian and Caucasian Studies and Guide for East European Studies.
Search Toolsby Julie Piacentine - last updated on Aug 03rd, 2009This is a guide to using the Library's Search Tools systems, a portal to library databases, articles, e-journals, online indexes, web resources, and catalogs.
Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studiesby Janet Crayne - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009The Slavic, East European, and Eurasian collection includes roughly 305,000 monographs and 3,200 serials in Russian; Serbian, Croatian and Bosnian; Polish, Czech and Slovak; Armenian and other languages of Eastern Europe and the Former Soviet Union.
Social Work 500: Human Differences, Social Relationships, Well-Being, & Change Through the Life Courseby Sally Haines - last updated on Sep 03rd, 2009This guide provides a checklist of "multicultural resources to understand individuals, families, and their interpersonal and group relationships, life span development, and theories of well-being, stress, coping, and adaption."
Sociologyby Darlene Nichols - last updated on Nov 23rd, 2009This is a guide to library resources and other information related to sociology and allied fields.
Southeast European Studiesby Janet Crayne - last updated on Aug 03rd, 2009This guide covers countries in southeastern Europe, including Modern Greece, Albania, Bulgaria, Hungary, Romania, and countries that comprised former Yugoslavia: Bosnia and Hercegovina, Croatia, Kosovo, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Slovenia.
Stay Alert! Keeping Your Research Up-to-Dateby Karen Reiman-Sendi - last updated on Nov 16th, 2009Tired of spending your time surfing the web for current research in your social sciences or humanities discipline? This guide will show you some alerting and RSS tools you can use to keep up-to-date in your field.
Substance Abuseby Sue Wortman - last updated on Aug 13th, 2009This guide highlights some of the resources available concerned with substance abuse. It is not comprehensive, but is intended to provide a starting point for research in this area. Contact library staff at social.work.library@umich.edu for further help.
Women's Studiesby Beth Strickland - last updated on Aug 17th, 2009This guide is designed to help you find relevant materials for research relating to women and gender.