Science
2012 SROP Science and Engineering
- Last Updated May 31, 2012
Guide for SROP students in science & engineering.
- Last Updated May 31, 2012
Guide for SROP students in science & engineering.
Astronomy & Astrophysics
- Last Updated Oct 27, 2011
A guide to useful sources in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics for UM researchers.
- Last Updated Oct 27, 2011
A guide to useful sources in the field of Astronomy and Astrophysics for UM researchers.
Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences.
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences.
Beilstein & Gmelin User Guide
- Last Updated Jan 12, 2011
This guide provides information on using two important chemistry resources: Beilstein and Gmelin.
- Last Updated Jan 12, 2011
This guide provides information on using two important chemistry resources: Beilstein and Gmelin.
Biological Chemistry Resources
- Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Biological Chemistry.
- Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Biological Chemistry.
Biology
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in biology, including: molecular, developmental, and cell biology; ecology and evolutionary biology; botany; and zoology.
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
Provides resources, strategies and information on conducting research in biology, including: molecular, developmental, and cell biology; ecology and evolutionary biology; botany; and zoology.
Botany
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
A guide for researchers of systematic and taxonomic botany, and those studying plant and fungal diversity at the University of Michigan.
- Last Updated Mar 23, 2012
A guide for researchers of systematic and taxonomic botany, and those studying plant and fungal diversity at the University of Michigan.
CHEM 447 Physical Methods of Analysis
- Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
A reading list for students in Chem 447
- Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
A reading list for students in Chem 447
ChemBioOffice: Professional illustrations and beyond for chemists and biologists
- Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
Basics for using ChemBioOffice/ChemBioDraw and brief introduction to applications of its different tools
- Last Updated Apr 8, 2011
Basics for using ChemBioOffice/ChemBioDraw and brief introduction to applications of its different tools
Chemical Engineering
- Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
A resource guide for chemical engineering information.
- Last Updated Feb 22, 2013
A resource guide for chemical engineering information.
Chemistry
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Resources for basic research in chemistry, including: analytical, organic, inorganic, biological, and physical chemistry.
- Last Updated May 14, 2013
Resources for basic research in chemistry, including: analytical, organic, inorganic, biological, and physical chemistry.
Citation Analysis Guide
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide is designed for faculty who need information on how to use library resources for citation analysis. This includes information about impact factors, journal rankings, and how to find who has cited an article.
- Last Updated May 1, 2013
This guide is designed for faculty who need information on how to use library resources for citation analysis. This includes information about impact factors, journal rankings, and how to find who has cited an article.
Citing Sources in the Sciences
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
LIsts print and online citation and style guides for various science disciplines; also explains how to abbreviate journal titles
- Last Updated Jan 5, 2013
LIsts print and online citation and style guides for various science disciplines; also explains how to abbreviate journal titles
Common Problems Finding Journal Articles
- Last Updated Nov 10, 2010
Suggestions for working through problems finding journal articles.
- Last Updated Nov 10, 2010
Suggestions for working through problems finding journal articles.
Finding Journal Articles in the Shapiro Science Library
- Last Updated May 7, 2012
This guide explains how to find a journal article, online or in print, in the Shapiro Science Library.
- Last Updated May 7, 2012
This guide explains how to find a journal article, online or in print, in the Shapiro Science Library.
Finding Species Information
- Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
A guide for finding factual information about particular plant and animal species.
- Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
A guide for finding factual information about particular plant and animal species.
Finding Spectral Data
- Last Updated Aug 31, 2011
A guide to locating IR, NMR, mass spec, and other spectral data.
- Last Updated Aug 31, 2011
A guide to locating IR, NMR, mass spec, and other spectral data.
Genetics
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
A research guide to useful sources in the field of genetics for UM researchers.
- Last Updated Dec 17, 2012
A research guide to useful sources in the field of genetics for UM researchers.
Graduate Student's Guide to Publishing
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
Tips on how to get your work published in a variety of formats.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
Tips on how to get your work published in a variety of formats.
Health Statistics
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
A guide to resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
A guide to resources on finding and utilizing health statistics.
History of Science & Technology
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide provides some suggested resources for research in the history of science and technology.
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
This guide provides some suggested resources for research in the history of science and technology.
Images
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
A guide to help you find and use images and other visual resources from the University Library. Visit us at Imageworks on the 2nd floor (east side) of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
A guide to help you find and use images and other visual resources from the University Library. Visit us at Imageworks on the 2nd floor (east side) of the Art, Architecture & Engineering Library.
ISI Web of Science: Getting Started
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide describes how to access and start searching the ISI database Web of Science, which includes Science Citation Index.
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide describes how to access and start searching the ISI database Web of Science, which includes Science Citation Index.
Landscape Architecture
- Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This guide contains resources for research in Landscape Architecture.
- Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This guide contains resources for research in Landscape Architecture.
Library of Congress Call Numbers
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Explains how to read Library of Congress (LC) call numbers and provides call numbers for science disciplines
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
Explains how to read Library of Congress (LC) call numbers and provides call numbers for science disciplines
Mirlyn Classic
- Last Updated Dec 20, 2011
This is a guide to using Mirlyn Classic, the classic University of Michigan Library Catalog.
- Last Updated Dec 20, 2011
This is a guide to using Mirlyn Classic, the classic University of Michigan Library Catalog.
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology Resources
- Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conduction research in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.
- Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conduction research in molecular, cellular, and developmental biology.
Natural Resources and Environment
- Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
UM Libraries supports research in natural resources and environmental science through a variety of materials, both print and electronic.
- Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
UM Libraries supports research in natural resources and environmental science through a variety of materials, both print and electronic.
Obtaining Copyright Permissions
- Last Updated May 7, 2013
This guide explains how to obtain copyright permission particularly when using music, movies, and images.
- Last Updated May 7, 2013
This guide explains how to obtain copyright permission particularly when using music, movies, and images.
Physics
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
A guide to useful sources in the field of Physics for UM researchers.
- Last Updated May 8, 2013
A guide to useful sources in the field of Physics for UM researchers.
Reaxys: Beilstein/Gmelin/Patent Chemistry
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Resources and how-to guide to use Reaxys efficiently
- Last Updated Jul 5, 2012
Resources and how-to guide to use Reaxys efficiently
REU Program in Science 2012 Summer
- Last Updated Jun 1, 2012
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
- Last Updated Jun 1, 2012
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
REU Program in Science: Summer 2011
- Last Updated Jun 8, 2011
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
- Last Updated Jun 8, 2011
Help students in Research Experience for Undergraduates program in the Structure and Function of Protein and in Chemistry to use library services and resources at the University of Michigan.
SciFinder
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Access and use SciFinder through the web version for exploring chemical literature and substance information.
- Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
Access and use SciFinder through the web version for exploring chemical literature and substance information.
Space Sciences
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Space Sciences.
- Last Updated Jan 9, 2013
Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in Space Sciences.
Statistics (Mathematical)
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
A guide to resources on mathematical statistics.
- Last Updated May 9, 2013
A guide to resources on mathematical statistics.
Unique Collections on the UM Campus
- Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Unusual collections in the UM Library and on the UM Campus (Ann Arbor).
- Last Updated Aug 28, 2012
Unusual collections in the UM Library and on the UM Campus (Ann Arbor).
Women in Science and Engineering (WISE) Library Guide
- Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
This guide is tailored for the instruction session given to people in the library workshop offered by WISE.
- Last Updated Jan 11, 2013
This guide is tailored for the instruction session given to people in the library workshop offered by WISE.

