Custom ProQuest cross-search of 6 major African American community newspapers published 1893 - 2005.
A custom ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete backfiles of six major African American community newspapers--Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005), New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Searchable access to the backfiles of 12 English language newspapers published in China, 1832-1953.
Searchable access to the backfiles of 12 English language newspapers, published in China during the period from 1832-1953. Each newspaper is reproduced with full page images, digitized from microfilm. The titles in this collection are listed below and may be searched in combination with the other ProQuest Historical Newspaper titles. These titles may also be searched as part of the ProQuest News & Current Events collection, which brings together current and historical newspaper content. North China Herald (1850-1941) Canton Times (1919-1920) China Critic (1939-1946) The China Press (1925-1938) China Weekly Review (1917-1953) Chinese Recorder (1868-1940) Chinese Repository (1832-1851) Peking Daily News (1914-1917) Peking Gazette (1915-1917) Peking Leader (1918-1919 Shanghai Gazette (1919-1921) Shanghai Times (1914-1921)
This online edition of The Daily Mail (1896-2004), a British tabloid newspaper, is fully searchable and browsable. As well as the regular edition of the newspaper, the Daily Mail Historical Archive also includes the Daily Mail Atlantic Edition, which was published on board the transatlantic liners that sailed between New York and Southampton between 1923 and 1931.
A complete searchable archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images, multiple search ...
A complete searchable archive of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to four years ago, with full-color images, multiple search indexes, and exportable financial tables. One of the most widely read magazines in the world, offering timely reporting, concise commentary and comprehensive analysis of the world's political, business, scientific, technological and cultural developments and the connections between them. (For text-only access to issues of The Economist from the most recent four years, use Academic OneFile, Access World News, or ProQuest Research Library.)
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996.
Provides CIA translations of newswires and broadcast services from around the world in full-text from 1941-1996. "The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence." -- Readex. For full text after 1996, see World News Connection. FBIS available on microfiche in the Graduate Library, MICRO-F X208 to X215.
The Financial Times Historical Archive is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper.
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2010, is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page. This is an essential, comprehensive and unbiased research tool for everyone studying public affairs, and economic and financial history of the last 120 years.
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of The Guardian, 1821-2003 (published in Manchester, England) and The Observer, ...
Full-text searchable access to the complete backfiles of The Guardian, 1821-2003 (published in Manchester, England) and The Observer, 1791-2003 (published in London, England). Includes original page images digitized from microfilm.
Digitized versions of The Irish Times (1859-2012) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958).
Explore nearly 150 years of the Emerald Isle’s turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate with The Irish Times (1859-2012) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). From the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today’s most pressing global social issues, Ireland’s “only independent newspaper” lends its authoritative voice to local and international events alike. The historical Irish Times provides comprehensive news reporting as well as sports, business, arts, lifestyle coverage, and more. Each issue contains in-depth analysis and lively debate of current events. The Weekly Irish Times’ coverage includes The Times Pictorial. These titles provide access to prominent columnists, including arts commentator Fintan O’Toole, satirist Miriam Lord, former Prime Minister Garret FitzGerald, and opinion editorial writers like Tony Blair and Bill Clinton. Because complete runs of The Irish Times and the Weekly Irish Times have been captured, researchers can follow the progression of events—and even the newspaper’s evolution from “new conservative daily paper” to today’s more progressive publication—over time.
A custom ProQuest cross-search providing full-text access to the complete backfiles of 27 U.S. and 32 international English-language newspapers from Canada, China, India, Ireland, Israel, and the United Kingdom.
Online backfile of The Times newspaper of London, England, covering 1785 to 2006.
Searchable access to more than 200 years of backfile issues of The Times newspaper of London, England, from its origin in 1785 through 2006, including full page facsimile images digitized from microfilm. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Note: For full text of the The Times since 2006, use LexisNexis Academic or NewBank's Access World News.
Searchable access to the backfile of The Times of India, in full page images digitized from microfilm.
Full-text searchable access. Part of the Historical Newspapers product. The world’s most widely circulated English daily newspaper was founded in 1838 to serve British residents of West India. Today this historical newspaper serves researchers interested in studying colonialism and post-colonialism, British and world history, class and gender issues, international relations, comparative religion, international economics, terrorism, and more. In its pages, The Times of India illuminates key historical events such as the Sepoy Mutiny, which lead to British rule in India; the formation of the Indian National Congress; and the rise of Gandhi’s civil disobedience movement. It captures the 1947 partitioning of India and Pakistan, the war over the Kashmir region, and the creation of Bangladesh. It reports on the assassinations of Indira and Rajiv Gandhi; the Bhopal industrial disaster, which resulted in thousands of deaths; and the rise of Pakistan as a nuclear power. And, it provides coverage of sports, the Indian film industry, and other stories of everyday life.
Full text of Presidential, Executive Branch, and Congressional documents since World War II declassified under the Freedom of Information Act. Subjects include foreign relations, the Korean and Vietnam Wars, civil rights movement, assassinations, etc.
Consists of over 45 themed collections of more than 90,000 declassified and FOIA'd documents that led to U.S. policy decisions from 1942 to 2014. Includes collections on Afghanistan, Chile, China, Colombia, El Salvador, Iran, Japan, Korea, Nicaragua, Peru, the Philippines, South Africa, and the Soviet Union.
A massive digital library bringing together materials digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, libraries at HathiTrust partner institutions, and other commercial digitization schemes. Includes searchable access to over 16 million volumes--including over 7 million books, and over 400, 000 serial publications--with full text ("Open View") access to about 38% of these materials (over 6 million volumes).
A retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials.
A retrospective database providing full-text access to the archives of core legal journals and other legal materials. Includes federal laws, regluations, case law, and reports and opinions of the U.S. Attorney General, and more. Provided by the U-M Law Library.
Indexes and abstracts Congressional committee publications, including hearings, committee prints, reports, documents, and public laws. It includes the full text of Congressional reports and documents (1789-1969), Executive branch documents (1789-1939), bills and resolutions (1789-present), hearings (1824-), Congressional Record (1985-1997), CRS Reports (1916-present), Statutes at Large (1789-), bill text (1989-), the Serial Set (1789-), Federal Register (1980-) and the current U.S. Code and the Code of Federal Regulations.
Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
The Confidential Print series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884 and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, Italy’s defeat by the Abyssinians, World War II, apartheid in South Africa and colonial moves towards independence, the documents in Confidential Print: Africa cover the whole of the modern period of European colonization of the continent. The resource includes the following file classes from the UK National Archives, Kew, in their entirety: CO 879/1-190 (Africa, 1848-1961) CO 886/1-11 (Dominions, 1907-1925) DO 116/1-8 (Dominions (South African), 1913-1944) FO 341/1-3 (Africa 1884-1900) FO 401/1-48 (Abyssinia, 1846-1956) FO 403/1-482 (Africa, 1834-1957) FO 413/1-99 (Morocco and North-West Africa, 1839-1957) FO 458/1-157 (West Africa, 1882-1950) FO 468/1-4 (British Commonwealth, 1945-1949) FO 485/1-3 (Liberia, 1947-1949) FO 540/1-6 (Libya, 1951-1956) The resource includes selected files from: CO 885/1-140 (War and Colonial Department and Colonial Office Confidential Print, 1839-1966) DO 114/1-120 (Dominions Office Confidential Print, 1924-1951) DO 201/1-53 (Commonwealth Relations Office Confidential Print, 1946-1966) WO 287/1-287 (War Office Confidential Print, 1904-1949) All these documents are full-text searchable. In addition, this resource includes more than 300 full-colour maps.
Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
The Confidential Print series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. Confidential Print: Latin America covers revolutions, territorial changes and political movements, foreign financial interests, industrial and infrastructural development (including the building of the Panama Canal), wars, slavery, immigration from Europe and relations with indigenous peoples, amongst other topics. Confidential Print: Latin America includes the following file classes from the UK National Archives, Kew, in their entirety: FO 497/1-10 (South America, 1947-1956) FO 467/1-5 (Brazil, 1947-1951) FO 486/1-10 (Mexico, 1947-1956) FO 533/1-11 (Central America and Caribbean, 1947-1957) FO 420/1-294 (Central and South America, 1833-1941) FO 495/1-10 (River Plate countries (Argentina, Paraguay and Uruguay), 1947-1956) The resource also includes the following selected files: FO 118/276, 281, 287, 292, 305, 317, 331 (Argentina, 1906-1913) FO 177/297 (Chilean Revolution, 1891) FO 508/8 (South and Central America, 1908-1909) FO 461/14-22 (Americas general, 1958-1969) All these documents are full-text searchable.
Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
This collection, sourced from the National Archives, Kew, covers a broad sweep of history from c. 1839 to 1969, taking in the countries of the Arabian peninsula, the Levant, Iraq, Turkey and many of the former Ottoman lands in Europe, Iran, Afghanistan, Egypt and Sudan. It includes reports, dispatches, correspondence, descriptions of leading personalities, political summaries and economic analyses issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Offices.
Digital collection of documents issued by the British Foreign and Colonial Office.
The Confidential Print series was issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970. The series originated out of a need to preserve the most important papers generated by the Foreign and Colonial Offices. These range from single-page letters or telegrams to comprehensive dispatches, investigative reports and texts of treaties. All items marked ‘Confidential Print’ were printed and circulated immediately to leading officials in the Foreign Office, to the Cabinet, and to heads of British missions abroad. Confidential Print: North America covers the period from 1824-1961 and includes the United States, Canada, the Caribbean, and Central America. Materials include reports and dispatches, descriptions of leading political personalities, weekly political summaries, and monthly economic reports. Topics that are highlighted in the documents include: prohibition; racial desegration in the United States; the League of Nations; the Second World War and public opinion in the United States; Senator Joseph McCarthy and "McCarthyism"; development of railways and fisheries in Canada; Canadian border disputes and territorial claims; Nazi activities in Chile, monitoring of Venezuelan finances, and more.
Sources from The National Archives, Kew - the UK government's official archive · 1919-1929, Kuomintang, CCP and the Third International · 1930-1937: The Long March, civil war in China and the Manchurian Crisis · 1938-1948: Open Door, Japanese war and the seeds of Communist victory (forthcoming) · 1949-1956, The Communist Revolution · 1957-1966, The Great Leap Forward · 1967-1980, The Cultural Revolution
UK government files on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan.
Sourced from the British Foreign Office files at The National Archives, the UK government's official archive, this digital collection focuses on the political and social history of India, Pakistan and Afghanistan. There is excellent content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions. The threat posed by China and the Soviet Union is analysed in detail. Other files look at the impact on UK, US and European trade, industrial policy, education and the media. There is an immense variety of material including diplomatic dispatches, inward and outward telegrams, newspaper cuttings and transcripts, maps, photographs, political and economic reports, accounts of visits and tours, minutes of meetings, conference proceedings, letters, leaflets and other ephemera. This project comprises the following three sections: Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era, 1947-1964 South Asian Conflicts and Independence for Bangladesh, 1965-1971 Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan, 1972-1980 Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan is an Archives Direct project.
Includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
Gateway to a variety of subject specific digital microfilm collections.
Archives Unbound presents topically-focused digital collections of historical documents. Collections in Archives Unbound cover a broad range of topics from the middle ages forward- from Witchcraft to World War II to twentieth century political history. Collections can be cross-searched or searched individually. For a complete list of available collections, see: http://go.galegroup.com/gdsc/i.do?v=2.1&u=umuser&pg=collections&it=browsecollections&p=GDSC&sw=null
Online archive of documents related to British history.
British Online Archives contains a wide range of materials related to British history, including the colonization of America, India, Africa, the West Indies, New Zealand, Australia and Melanesia. The collection contains sources that relate to both politics and history, including: *Records of missionaries from the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel *Records made by the East India Company *Papers of the Parliamentary Labour Party *Anti-fascist newsletters of the International Transport Workers' Federation *Records of the Communist Party of Great Britain *The British Union of Fascists’ newspapers and secret files *British Broadcasting Corporation records *Trade directories Additional content can be found by selecting the ‘List Collections’ option on the toolbar.
Publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs
"Chatham House Online Archive contains the publications and archives of the Royal Institute of International Affairs (Chatham House), the world-leading independent international affairs policy institute founded in 1920 following the Paris Peace Conference. The Institute's analysis and research, as well as debates and speeches it has hosted, can be found in this online archive, subject-indexed and fully searchable."--From the website.
Collection of English language sources detailing China's interaction with the West.
Includes unique manuscript material drawn chiefly from the School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS) and the British Library in London. Additional library and archival collections that are represented include Cambridge University Library, the Church Missionary Society Archive, the National Archives at Kew, and Duke University, among others. The collection includes letters, diaries, missionary periodicals, maps and drawings, and other documents to facilitate research into diplomatic and missionary interactions, as well as events related to business, trade, and tourism. Notable events such as the Macartney Embassy, Opium Wars, Taiping Rebellion, Boxer War, Great Leap Forward, Nixon visit, and more are represented by the documents included.
Over 60,000 images of original manscripts related to Empire Studies sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
Empire Online contains over 60,000 images of original manscripts and printed material related to: Cultural Contacts; Empire Writing; the Invisible Empire; Religion and Empire; Race, Class & Colonialism. Covers Africa, the Americas, Australasia, Oceania & South Asia. There is a good balance between manuscript and printed material and a broad range of document types; written by men and women from both the European and the non-European perspective, including: Exploration journals and logs Letter books and correspondence Periodicals Diaries Official Government Papers Missionary papers Travel writing Slave papers Memoirs Fiction Children's Adventure Stories Traditional; folk tales Exhibition Catalogues and guides Maps Marketing Posters Photographs Illustrations, including many in colour Materials in Empire Online were sourced from: The British Library, The National Archives, Kew; The Bodleian Library, Oxford, The Victoria and Albert Museum, Church Mission Society Archive, University of Birmingham, The School of Oriental and African Studies (SOAS), The National Archives of Canada, The Glenbow Museum, Canada, The National Library of Australia; The Bank of England Library; Birmingham Central Library; State Records, New South Wales; The National Library of Scotland; The London Library; National Gallery of Canada, University of Michigan Museum of Art; Minneapolis Institute of Arts.
A collection of text and video on human rights crimes in the 20th and early 21st centuries
It includes more than 10,400 pages of archival materials; over 2,300 published monographs totaling more than 37,000 pages; 241 complete videos; more than 3,000 pages of reports, journal articles, and other full-text items; more than 1,000 images (most from The Getty); and nearly 700 links to vetted, important external websites.
Digital primary source collections of the long nineteenth century.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) is a multi-year global digitization and publishing program focusing on primary source collections of the long nineteenth century. The program includes a variety of content types--monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, statistics, and more--and unites them in one central, cross-searchable location. Content is being sourced from around the world: from national libraries; from academic and public libraries; and from a variety of special collections, archives, and repositories. NCCO currently contains 4 collections: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange British Politics and Society British Theatre, Music and Literature: High and Popular Culture European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
An index to over 20 million articles in more than 7,000 arts, humanities and social science journals, from their first issues through 2000. Includes full text of articles for 633 of the journals covered. Covers many older journals not indexed electronically anywhere else.
Collection of primary texts relating to women socal activists around the world, 1840 to present.
When complete, Women and Social Movements International will contain about "150,000 pages of conference proceedings, reports of international women's organizations, publications and web pages of women's non-governmental organizations, and letters, diaries, and memoirs of women active internationally since the mid-nineteenth century....Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life." -- Alexander Street Press