Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

PSYCH 230: Introduction to Behavioral Neuroscience

Fall 2017 - Prof. Cummings

Welcome + Ask A Librarian

This guide will help you get started with your research for Psych 230.

For assistance with your library research, Ask A Librarian

  • Your subject specialist librarian (see Hailey's information on this page)
  • Our general reference Ask A Librarian services (in-person, phone, online)

Science News Sources

Recommended News Sites

Library Database Strategy

Search across multiple popular science news and magazines sources at once.

Start by going to the ProQuest Research Library database:

  • Go to the Advanced Search page
  • In the first search box, copy and paste the following search syntax. It will limit your search to a predetermined set of science news and magazines publications.
    • pub.Exact(“Discover” OR “Popular Science” OR “Scientific American” OR “Science News” OR “Psychology Today” OR “New Scientist” OR “American Scientist” OR “Wired” OR “Scientific American Mind”)
  • In the second search box, enter your topic keywords
  • Run the search
  • Consider limiting the publication date to recent years
     

Find the scholarly article behind the news story

If there is full a citation provided:

  1. Search on the title of the article in ArticlesPlus on the U-M library homepage and click the MGet It button to connect to the full text, or
  2. use the MGet It Citation Linker directly

If only the author and journal name is provided:

  1. Look up the journal in the list of Online Journals on the U-M library website
    1. Search in the journal on the author's name and any relevant keywords

Background Sources: Encyclopedia articles and Book chapters

ArticlesPlus

ArticlesPlus is a search engine on the U-M library homepage that searches across most of our databases and collections all at once.

When using ArticlesPlus for background sources, filter and refine your searches:

  • After running a search, use the Refine Search filters
    • Limit by Format
      • Reference
      • Book Chapter
      • Book/eBook
  • Try different keywords
    • This database casts a wide net, so you may need to add some additional keywords (depending on your topic) to narrow to results that will be relevant for this class. For example, try adding the following keywords to your search:
      • psychology
      • behavioral neuroscience
      • biopsychology
      • brain

Reference Databases

Search across encyclopedias and handbooks from different academic publishers

Handbook of Psychology

Databases for Scholarly Articles

Example search

For databases with multiple search boxes (e.g. PsycINFO and Web of Science)

concussions
AND cognitive ability OR cognitive impairment
AND long term

For databases with a single search box (e.g., PubMed)

concussions AND (cognitive ability OR cognitive impairment) AND long term