Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Primary Sources On Asian Americans

Guide for American Culture 314 --Introduction to Asian American Studies

Useful Websites on Asian Americans

Guide to Online Primary Sources: Asian Americans
http://ucsd.libguides.com/c.php?g=90745&p=983310

Developed by the University of California San Diego.  Includes free web resources and subscription based resources at UCSD.


Pioneering Punjabis Digital Archive
http://pioneeringpunjabis.ucdavis.edu/

This archive offers a window into the story of South Asian immigrants from the Punjab region in north India to California since the turn of the twentieth century.  Explore over 700 video interviews, speeches, diaries, photographs, articles, and letters in which Punjabi Americans share their life stories, values, and contributions to California’s history over the last hundred and twenty years.


Primary Source Set: Early Chinese Immigration to the US
https://ket.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/dpla-pss-058/primary-source-set-early- chinese-immigration-to-the-us/#.Wduyn1tSyUk

This collection uses primary sources to explore early Chinese immigration to the United States. Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop their critical thinking skills and draw diverse material from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee.


Primary Source Set: Japanese American Internment During World War II
https://ket.pbslearningmedia.org/resource/dpla-pss-073/primary-source-set-japanese-american-internment-during-world-war ii/#.Wdu2OltSyUk

This collection uses primary sources to explore Japanese American internment during World War II. Digital Public Library of America Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop their critical thinking skills and draw diverse material from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States. Each set includes an overview, ten to fifteen primary sources, links to related resources, and a teaching guide. These sets were created and reviewed by the teachers on the DPLA's Education Advisory Committee.


Densho
https://densho.org/

"Densho's mission is to preserve the testimonies of Japanese Americans who were unjustly incarcerated during World War II before their memories are extinguished. We offer these irreplaceable firsthand accounts, coupled with historical images and teacher resources, to explore principles of democracy and promote equal justice for all."


Asian American Pacific Islander Collections of the Library of Congress
https://www.loc.gov/rr/main/aapi/AAPI.html


The Asian American Pacific Islander (AAPI) Collection was established in the Library of Congress Asian Division in 2007 after receiving a mandate and annual appropriation from Congress. The development of the collection was initiated by Congressman Michael Honda, after a survey of collections in the Library of Congress delineated AAPI primary and reference resources housed in twenty-six divisions.  Much of the collection material in English. However, also included within these collections are some material in Chinese, Korean, Japanese, Vietnamese, Tagalog, and other Pacific Islander, South Asian, and Southeast Asian languages.


UCLA Library Guide – Asian American Studies Research Guide
http://guides.library.ucla.edu/c.php?g=180439&p=1190337


Rock Springs Massacre
(Example of Primary Source Newspaper Article)

 

New York Times Article September 5, 1885
https://search.proquest.com/hnpnewyorktimes/docview/94285687/F210187EEF0D487EPQ/1?accountid=14667