Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

History 272: Modern Civil Rights Movement

Group Project, Washtenaw Faces Race

Declaration of Independence 

The Declaration of Independence expresses the ideals on which the United States was founded and the reasons for separation from Great Britain.

Handbook of Political Theory
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/42406

This Handbook provides a definitive state-of-the-art review to political theory, past and present. It offers a complete guide to all the main areas and fields of political and philosophical inquiry today by the world's leading theorists. The Handbook is divided into four parts which together serve to illustrate the diversity of political theorizing, the substantive theories that provide an over-aching analysis of the nature/or justification of the state and political life, the political theories that have been either formulated or resurgent in recent years, the current state of the central debates within contemporary political theory, the history of western political thought and its interpretations, and traditions in political thought outside a western perspective. Topics include: Approaches to the Study of Political Theory, Political Theories, The Modern State, and The History of Political Thought. Edited by Gerald F. Gaus & Chandran Kukathas.

Encyclopædia Britannica
http://www.lib.umich.edu/database/link/9491

Encyclopedia Britannica's latest article database (including hundreds of articles not found in the print edition), Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, and the Britannica Book of the Year (1994- ), with thousands of web links selected by editors.

The Federalist Papers

M ANY of the Federalist Papers discuss several different aspects of the Constitution and the proposed form of the new government simultaneously in a single essay, and issues are revived and returned to at several points in the text.

In a second section, essays 38 to 51 lay out the principles of the new federal Constitution emphasizing its republican ideas, the balance of powers granted as between states and the proposed federal government (41– 6), and the principle of the separation of powers (47– 51).
Hamilton, Alexander, et al. The Federalist Papers, edited by Fellow and Tutor in Modern History Lawrence Goldman, OUP Oxford, 2014. ProQuest Ebook Central, .
Created from umichigan on 2017-09-13 07:12:02.


Iroquois Nations Constitution

Among the Haudenosaunee (the "Six Nations," comprising the MohawkOnondagaOneidaCayugaSeneca, and Tuscarora peoples) the Great Law of Peace is the oral constitution of the Iroquois Confederacy. The law was written on wampum belts, conceived by Dekanawidah, known as The Great Peacemaker, and his spokesman Hiawatha. The original five member nations ratified this constitution near modern-day Victor, New York, with the sixth nation (the Tuscarora) being added in c. 1722.