Research Guides: Ghana-UM Collaboration: Information Resources: Databases and EBM

Practice Guidelines

ECRI Guidelines Trust
Provides access to evidence-based Guideline Briefs based on clinical guidelines from participating guideline developers, medical specialty societies, and other healthcare organizations. Freely available but registration required.
NICE Guidelines (UK)
From the National Institute of Health and Care Excellence
Scottish Intercollegiate Guidelines Network
World Health Organization Guidelines
Global guidelines approved by the Guidelines Review Committee.
AHRQ Clinical Guidelines and Recommendations

Best Evidence Topics (BETS)
Database of evidence-based answers developed in the Emergency Department of Manchester Royal Infirmary, UK, to provide rapid evidence-based answers to real-life clinical questions, using a systematic approach to reviewing the literature.
Cochrane Library
Evidence generated through research and assessment of useful literature for informing decisions about health by health care providers and researchers around the world.
EvidenceAlerts
Incorporates McMaster University's McMaster PLUS email alerting system and searchable database of best evidence from the medical literature. Freely available but registration required.
Global Index Medicus
From the World Health Organization. Global Index Medicus provides worldwide access to biomedical and public health literature produced by and within low-middle income countries.
Medscape
Provides medical news and perspectives, organized by topic.
NICE Evidence Series
From the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (UK) providing authoritative evidence in health, social care and public health.
Trip Database
Trip (Turning Research into Practice) is a sophisticated tool for locating the highest possible evidence with which to inform clinical decisions, using the principles of evidence based medicine. Results include evidence-based synopses, systematic reviews, guidelines and PubMed.

GLOWM - Global Library of Women's Medicine
Free access to a vast, constantly updated, and peer-reviewed resource of clinical information and guidance.
LiverTox
Comprehensive information about liver injury caused by prescription and nonprescription drugs, herbals and dietary supplements.
WHO Reproductive Health Library
A curated collection of high-quality evidence in reproductive health, published by the World Health Organization.

PubMed
The premier biomedical database indexing biomedical and health sciences journal literature.
African Index Medicus
Access to information published in or related to Africa
Biomed Central
More than 200 free, online academic journals specializing in science, technology, and medicine.
ClinicalTrials.gov
A database of clinical studies, sponsored by the U.S. National Institutes of Health.
Cochrane Library
A set of databases of evidence-based research.
Google Scholar
Lets you search broadly for scholarly literature.
Health Services Research Information Central (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform
A searchable database of ongoing and completed clinical trials registered around the world.