Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

ED 431: Teaching of Social Studies in the Elementary School

This guide is designed to help ED 431 students find and evaluate resources that they can use while teaching elementary school social studies

Books in Children's Collection

Non Fiction Books

Here are some call numbers to get you started.  These call numbers may help you find books via location, since books with the same subject material tend to be shelved together.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of all the call numbers relating to children's literature in the library.

History:

E58 - E99 Native American History

E101 - E120 Columbus and early explorers

E188 - E278 American Revolution

E301 - E342 Early American History and Presidents

F390 - F1219 Western Expansion

E441 - E451 Slavery (including Harriet Tubman)

E453 - E672 Civil War, Lincoln, Emancipation

D522 - D802 WWI, WWII, Resistance to Nazis

D804 - D810 Holocaust

E184 - E186 Civil Rights (includes civil rights leaders)

DS557 - DS560 Vietnam War

E741 - E909 American Presidents and Politicians

HQ1121 - HQ1587 Women's Rights

Civics:

KF4520 - KF8745 Constitution, Supreme Court

Geography:

​G1021 - GA408 Atlases and Maps

Economics:

HC105 Industrial Revolution

HC106 Great Depression

HG221 Money/Currency

HG179 Economics
 

 

Search Your Local Library

If you cannot find a children's book you are looking for, check your local public library - for example, search the Ann Arbor District Library (AADL) online catalog.

Children's Literature Collection Location

The Children's Literature Collection moved from the basement of Shapiro to 3 South Hatcher on
September 16, 2016.  

Finding Children's Books

Searching the Catalog

You will need to know the call number, status, and location of the book before you can find it in the library.  See Searching the Online Catalog (Mirlyn)  in the Children's Literature Research Guide for instructions on how to obtain this information.  You can go directly to Mirlyn as well.  


NoveList K-8 Plus

NoveList provides picture book and young adult book information indexed by subject, age, awards won, Lexile Reading levels, Common Core standards, books made into movies, and other categories.


Finding Children's eBooks in the Library

The University of Michigan Library has purchased a public library collection from the vendor ebrary. Included in this collection are several children's ebooks.

Be advised that the content of this collection changes rapidly and without notice. Visit the Help menus within the ebrary interface for information about using the interface.

Click here for a direct link to ebrary children's literature content.

Finding Books