Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cultural Competence

Increase intercultural awareness and competencies for traveling abroad and living among culturally diverse populations.

Inventory of Websites & Databases

Free access to all users.

Diversity

What is the difference between race and ethnicity?

View replies from PBS and California Newsreel's experts. Learn more about race and diversity on PBS's RACE - The Power of an Illusion.

"I have a hard time understanding accents." (article)

This advice column suggests a few strategies to appropriately deal with not understanding another person's accent.

Your professor does speak English: Competence and cooperation in classroom communication (article)

Many students complain and skip classes because they do not understand their professor. This article is a good reminder of how communication is a two-way street and stereotypes affect comprehension.

"It’s not my fault, my professor don’t speak English! I can’t understand a word he says!" (article)

This article considers a student's viewpoint and shares simple but important college-specific strategies to overcoming linguistic barriers. 

The Gender Unicorn (website)

How are gender, sex and attraction different? View this infographic to learn how these three concepts can be spectrums instead of binaries. Also view other helpful information on Trans Student Educational Resources website.

Which English? Quiz (website)

There are many kinds of "English." Take this quiz and let an algorithm guess which of the world's English you speak.


World

Newspaper Map

World Factbook (website)

The CIA's basic statistical and factual reviews of countries' geography, society, government, economy, energy, communication, transportation, military and transnational issues.

GlobalEdge (website)

Business-oriented insight to states, countries, trade blocs, markets and industries. Country short facts and statistics cover social sciences. Includes external links to cultural resources

NativePlanet Indigenous Mapping (website)

Demographic overview of indigenous communities in Africa, Asia and Latin America. Includes resource links for each group.

Global Affairs Canada Country Insights (website)

The Canadian government's country profiles and guides to national cultures from Canadian and local perspectives. Includes resource links for additional information on culture, history, geography, etc.

Commisceo Country Guides (website)

Country guides discuss language, culture, customs and etiquette. This website also features additional blog posts regarding cultural awareness.

CalPhotos: People & Culture (website)

Photo bank of people and places.

Hofstede Country Cultural Dimensions Ratings (website)

Graphical representation of countries' ratings of power distance, individualism, masculinity, uncertainty avoidance, long term orientation & indulgence.

Association of Religious Data Archive National Profiles (website)

This database contains a variety of religious statistics for each country/territory surveyed.

Pew Research Center Global Religious Landscape (website)

Demographic study on religions includes maps and graphs.

Encyclopedia Mythica (website)

Concise mythological, folkloric, bestiary and heroic entries. 


USA & Canada

U-M SNRE Cultural Adjustment (website)

Guide and videos for culture shock, greetings and academic adjustment with a focus on the U.S.

U-M International Center: Adjusting to the U.S. (website)

Questions for international students to think about when adjusting to the U.S. and Ann Arbor.

International Student Guide to the U.S. (website)

Guide for international students adjusting to college and American life.

Kids.gov Cultures & Ethnic Groups (website)

U.S. government's recommended links to resources related to African, Asian, Hispanic and Native Americans, and Women.

Interexchange Learn About the U.S. (website)

Recommendations for American books, TV/movies, music, sports, food, touristic attractions, as well as cultural activities in individual states.


Latin America & the Caribbean

Latin American Network Information Center (website)

List of links to information on a variety of subjects and countries. Many external links are in Spanish or Portuguese.


Europe

Southeast Europe: People and Culture (website)

Select a country to view introductory text and additional articles related to art, dance & theater, film, gastronomy, literature, music and sports.

Europeana Collections (website)

Database of artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from museums, libraries and universities across Europe.

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian.


Middle East & Northern Africa

Global Connections: Middle East Culture (website)

Basic introduction to culture, language, religion of the Middle East in general, with timeline (up to 2002) and links to additional information.

Creative Dissent: Arts of the Arab World Uprisings (website)

The Arab American Museum's online exhibit of photos, graffiti images, videos and songs about the uprisings in the Arab World from 2010 to 2013. Curated by U-M associate professor & PhD student.

Yousef Jameel Centre for Islamic and Asian Art (website)

The University of Oxford Ashmolean Museum's online collection of art from the Islamic Middle East, China, Japan, Southeast Asia, India and the Himalayas.


Sub-Saharan Africa

Art & Life in Africa

Visual galleries and topic essays on art in and related to everyday life, education, ancient times, medicine, cultural exchange, etc. Country pages display key facts and figures, historical summary and local artworks.

Our Africa

Country specific facts and figures, videos, images and descriptions of poverty, healthcare, food, daily life, people, culture, geography, nature, music, family, economy, education, jobs, history, politics, tourism, etc.

African Writing Online

Short texts from African writers and articles about African literary works and authors.

AfricaGuide

General African arts and culture, food, tribe, music, festivals information, basic country overviews, photo library and articles related to touristic travels in Africa.

Africa: The Art of a Continent

The Guggenheim Museum's introductory online exhibit to artifacts, films and photographs from Africa. Use the clickable map to view by region.


Asia & Oceania

Charting the Pacific (website)

Discover stories of lives in the Pacific and explore maps, country profiles, and regional statistics and issues.

The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (website)

New Zealand government's online encyclopedia with entries on different ethnic groups, regions, creative and daily life, government, social concepts, nature, etc.

ECAI Pacific Language Mapping (website)

Language atlas of the Pacific area, Southeast Asia, and Madagascar.

Trove (website)

The National Library of Australia's digital collection of Australian books, images, newspapers, maps, music, websites, etc.

Coconet TV (website)

Interactive timeline, games, photos, blogs, videos about and from people in the Pacific.


Study/Work Abroad

Authentication may be required for database access.

Diversity

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (database)

Numerous tables of demographics and other statistical data related to different sectors of the economy. Some include population figures by race, sex, age, language, and/or religion.

World

Library PressDisplay

Europa World Plus (database)

Regularly updated profiles, statistics and economic and political essays of regions and countries. 

Global Road Warrior (database)

This database provides basic country facts and lengthier articles on business, security, health, utilities, communication and entertainment. Addresses some stereotypes and demonstrates popular phrases in foreign languages. eBook versions available in Mirlyn.

CultureGrams (database)

Simple and easy to read overviews of over 200 countries, focusing on different populations’ customs, lifestyles and societies from an American perspective. Includes a Kids, USA, Canada and World Edition.

Ethnographic Video Online (database)

Videos of family, cultural identity, gender roles, arts, religion, etc.

eHRAF World Cultures (database)

This ethnographic database covers multiple aspects of cultural and social life and can be browsed alphabetically by group name, or by region or country. Includes document collection. Text may include anthropological terminology.

Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (database)

Volumes by continent. Regional entries discuss instruments and styles of ethnic subclusters. Includes audio samples.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History (database)

View essays and images of artworks by theme, region and/or time period.

World Religion Database (database)

Extensive religious statistics and trends since 1900, and other data for countries, peoples and languages

Ethnologue: Languages of the World (database)

Linguistic data and classifications browsable by country or language.


USA & Canada

American Indian History Online (database)

Summaries, videos, slideshows, biographies, primary sources, maps and graphs on American Indian groups.


Latin America & the Caribbean

Latin America in Video (database)

Spanish video database for a variety of fields browsable by country.


Study/Work Abroad

MyWorldAbroad

GoinGlobal

 
Loading

Inventory of Visuals

Diversity

The Gender Unicorn (website)

How are gender, sex and attraction different? View this infographic to learn how these three concepts can be spectrums instead of binaries. Also view other helpful information on Trans Student Educational Resources website.

World

World Factbook (website)

The CIA's basic statistical and factual reviews of countries' geography, society, government, economy, energy, communication, transportation, military and transnational issues.

Global Road Warrior (database)

This database provides basic country facts and lengthier articles on business, security, health, utilities, communication and entertainment. Addresses some stereotypes and demonstrates popular phrases in foreign languageseBook versions available in Mirlyn.

CultureGrams (database)

Simple and easy to read overviews of over 200 countries, focusing on different populations’ customs, lifestyles and societies from an American perspective. Includes a Kids, USA, Canada and World Edition.

CalPhotos: People & Culture (website)

Photo bank of people and places.

World Digital Library (database)

The Library of Congress and UNESCO's digital collection of primary materials in timelines, images and descriptions. Browsable by place, time period, topic, language, etc.

Metropolitan Museum of Art Timeline of Art History (database)

View essays and images of artworks by theme, region and/or time period.


USA & Canada

American Indian History Online (database)

Summaries, videos, slideshows, biographies, primary sources, maps and graphs on American Indian groups.


Europe

Southeast Europe: People and Culture (website)

Select a country to view introductory text and additional articles related to art, dance & theater, film, gastronomy, literature, music and sports.

Europeana Collections (website)

Database of artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from museums, libraries and universities across Europe.

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian.


Middle East & Northern Africa

Creative Dissent: Arts of the Arab World Uprisings (website)

The Arab American Museum's online exhibit of photos, graffiti images, videos and songs about the uprisings in the Arab World from 2010 to 2013. Curated by U-M associate professor & PhD student.

Yousef Jameel Centre for Islamic and Asian Art (website)

The University of Oxford Ashmolean Museum's online collection of art from the Islamic Middle East, China, Japan, Southeast Asia, India and the Himalayas.


Sub-Saharan Africa

Encyclopedia of African peoples (2000 book)

Entries by ethnic group. Visual guide to history, language, ways of life, social structure, culture & religion.

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations (2002 book)

Entries by region, country and major civilizations. Visual guide to history and peoples of countries.

Art & Life in Africa

Visual galleries and topic essays on art in and related to everyday life, education, ancient times, medicine, cultural exchange, etc. Country pages display key facts and figures, historical summary and local artworks.

Our Africa

Country specific facts and figures, videos, images and descriptions of poverty, healthcare, food, daily life, people, culture, geography, nature, music, family, economy, education, jobs, history, politics, tourism, etc.

AfricaGuide

General African arts and culture, food, tribe, music, festivals information, basic country overviews, photo library and articles related to touristic travels in Africa.

Africa: The Art of a Continent

The Guggenheim Museum's introductory online exhibit to artifacts, films and photographs from Africa. Use the clickable map to view by region.


Asia & Oceania

Charting the Pacific (website)

Discover stories of lives in the Pacific and explore maps, country profiles, and regional statistics and issues.

The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (website)

New Zealand government's online encyclopedia with entries on different ethnic groups, regions, creative and daily life, government, social concepts, nature, etc.

Trove (website)

The National Library of Australia's digital collection of Australian books, images, newspapers, maps, music, websites, etc.

Coconet TV (website)

Interactive timeline, games, photos, blogs, videos about and from people in the Pacific.

Tribal Asia (2004 book)

A photobook of tribes in ancient Arabia, India, mountains, Central Asia and Malay archipelago.


Study/Work Abroad

Business Insider Country Communication Chart

 

Diversity

Cross-Cultural Communication (video)

This short, online video depicts a situation in which a manager and her two employees have difficulties communicating due to different cultural backgrounds and stereotyping. It emphasizes the importance of viewing every person and country as unique.

World

Global Road Warrior (database)

This database provides basic country facts and lengthier articles on business, security, health, utilities, communication and entertainment. Addresses some stereotypes and demonstrates popular phrases in foreign languages. eBook versions available in Mirlyn.

CultureGrams (database)

Simple and easy to read overviews of over 200 countries, focusing on different populations’ customs, lifestyles and societies from an American perspective. Includes a Kids, USA, Canada and World Edition.

Ethnographic Video Online (database)

Videos of family, cultural identity, gender roles, arts, religion, etc.


USA & Canada

U-M SNRE Cultural Adjustment (website)

Guide and videos for culture shock, greetings and academic adjustment with a focus on the U.S.

Interexchange Learn About the U.S. (website)

Recommendations for American books, TV/movies, music, sports, food, touristic attractions, as well as cultural activities in individual states.

American Indian History Online (database)

Summaries, videos, slideshows, biographies, primary sources, maps and graphs on American Indian groups.


Latin America & the Caribbean

Americas (1993 video)

English & Spanish video on issues that prevail in Latin America.

Latin America in Video (database)

Spanish video database for a variety of fields browsable by country.


Europe

Southeast Europe: People and Culture (website)

Select a country to view introductory text and additional articles related to art, dance & theater, film, gastronomy, literature, music and sports.

Europeana Collections (website)

Database of artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from museums, libraries and universities across Europe.

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian.


Middle East & Northern Africa

Creative Dissent: Arts of the Arab World Uprisings (website)

The Arab American Museum's online exhibit of photos, graffiti images, videos and songs about the uprisings in the Arab World from 2010 to 2013. Curated by U-M associate professor & PhD student.


Sub-Saharan Africa

Art & Life in Africa

Visual galleries and topic essays on art in and related to everyday life, education, ancient times, medicine, cultural exchange, etc. Country pages display key facts and figures, historical summary and local artworks.

Our Africa

Country specific facts and figures, videos, images and descriptions of poverty, healthcare, food, daily life, people, culture, geography, nature, music, family, economy, education, jobs, history, politics, tourism, etc.


Asia & Oceania

Charting the Pacific (website)

Discover stories of lives in the Pacific and explore maps, country profiles, and regional statistics and issues.

Trove (website)

The National Library of Australia's digital collection of Australian books, images, newspapers, maps, music, websites, etc.

The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (website)

New Zealand government's online encyclopedia with entries on different ethnic groups, regions, creative and daily life, government, social concepts, nature, etc.

Coconet TV (website)

Interactive timeline, games, photos, blogs, videos about and from people in the Pacific.


Study/Work Abroad

Global Scholar Online Learning

This interactive online course outlines what to do and expect before, during and after going abroad. Registration required.

U-M Resilient Traveling

U-M's project website dedicated to helping students traveling abroad to learn how to cope with culture shock, stress, loneliness and more.

GoOverseas

GoAbroad.com

Passport to Trade European Business Culture

Need more maps? View the U-M's Stephen S. Clark Library's map collection.

Diversity

University of Virginia Weldon Cooper Center for Public Service's "Racial Dot Map"

Interactive map of the U.S. where colored dots represent a white, black, Asian, Hispanic or other racial/ethnic person.

Census Atlas of the United States (2007 ebook)

The U.S. Census Bureau's publication that includes hundreds of maps related to population distributions sorted by factors such as age, sex, race, ethnicity, language, education, income, housing, etc.

Atlas of American Diversity (1998 book)

Introduction to some of the large ethnic groups in the U.S. and includes some overviews, maps and charts of their population growth, projections, regional concentrations and other demographic information.

 U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. government's maps of population surveys.

The Williams Institute at UCLA

Maps related to sexual orientation and gender identity.

Religious Congregations & Membership Study

Maps related to religious demographics.

World

World Factbook (website)

The CIA's basic statistical and factual reviews of countries' geography, society, government, economy, energy, communication, transportation, military and transnational issues.

Global Road Warrior (database)

This database provides basic country facts and lengthier articles on business, security, health, utilities, communication and entertainment. Addresses some stereotypes and demonstrates popular phrases in foreign languages. eBook versions available in Mirlyn.

CultureGrams (database)

Simple and easy to read overviews of over 200 countries, focusing on different populations’ customs, lifestyles and societies from an American perspective. Includes a Kids, USA, Canada and World Edition.

World Digital Library (database)

The Library of Congress and UNESCO's digital collection of primary materials in timelines, images and descriptions. Browsable by place, time period, topic, language, etc.

Pew Research Center Global Religious Landscape (website)

Demographic study on religions includes maps and graphs.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World (database)

Linguistic data and classifications browsable by country or language.


USA & Canada

U-M International Center: Adjusting to the U.S. (website)

Questions for international students to think about when adjusting to the U.S. and Ann Arbor. View U-M campus tour maps.

American Indian History Online (database)

Summaries, videos, slideshows, biographies, primary sources, maps and graphs on American Indian groups.


Latin America & the Caribbean

Glencoe World Geography textbook: Ch.9: The Cultural Geography of Latin America (PDF)

Simple overview of Latin American people, history and culture. Includes graphs and maps for ethnic groups, languages, migration and urbanization, historical empires and religions.


Europe

Europeana Collections (website)

Database of artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from museums, libraries and universities across Europe.

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian. Search for maps under Infographics.


Middle East & Northern Africa

Global Connections: Middle East Culture (website)

Basic introduction to culture, language, religion of the Middle East in general, with timeline (up to 2002) and links to additional information. Scroll to the bottom of the page for maps link.


Sub-Saharan Africa

Encyclopedia of African peoples (2000 book)

Entries by ethnic group. Visual guide to history, language, ways of life, social structure, culture & religion.

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations (2002 book)

Entries by region, country and major civilizations. Visual guide to history and peoples of countries.

Our Africa

Country specific facts and figures, videos, images and descriptions of poverty, healthcare, food, daily life, people, culture, geography, nature, music, family, economy, education, jobs, history, politics, tourism, etc. Only one map per country, but interactive and descriptive.

AfricaGuide

General African arts and culture, food, tribe, music, festivals information, basic country overviews, photo library and articles related to touristic travels in Africa.


Asia & Oceania

Charting the Pacific (website)

Discover stories of lives in the Pacific and explore maps, country profiles, and regional statistics and issues.

The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (website)

New Zealand government's online encyclopedia with entries on different ethnic groups, regions, creative and daily life, government, social concepts, nature, etc.

ECAI Pacific Language Mapping (website)

Language atlas of the Pacific area, Southeast Asia, and Madagascar.

Trove (website)

The National Library of Australia's digital collection of Australian books, images, newspapers, maps, music, websites, etc.

Diversity

ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (database)

Numerous tables of demographics and other statistical data related to different sectors of the economy. Some include population figures by race, sex, age, language, and/or religion.

Census Atlas of the United States (2007 ebook)

The U.S. Census Bureau's publication that includes hundreds of maps related to population distributions sorted by factors such as age, sex, race, ethnicity, language, education, income, housing, etc.

Atlas of American Diversity (1998 book)

Introduction to some of the large ethnic groups in the U.S. and includes some overviews, maps and charts of their population growth, projections, regional concentrations and other demographic information.

 U.S. Census Bureau

The U.S. government's maps of population surveys.

The Williams Institute at UCLA

Maps related to sexual orientation and gender identity.

Religious Congregations & Membership Study

Maps related to religious demographics.

World

Europa World Plus (database)

Regularly updated profiles, statistics and economic and political essays of regions and countries. 

World Factbook (website)

The CIA's basic statistical and factual reviews of countries' geography, society, government, economy, energy, communication, transportation, military and transnational issues.

GlobalEdge (website)

Business-oriented insight to states, countries, trade blocs, markets and industries. Country short facts and statistics cover social sciences. Includes external links to cultural resources. 

Global Road Warrior (database)

This database provides basic country facts and lengthier articles on business, security, health, utilities, communication and entertainment. Addresses some stereotypes and demonstrates popular phrases in foreign languages. eBook versions available in Mirlyn.

CultureGrams (database)

Simple and easy to read overviews of over 200 countries, focusing on different populations’ customs, lifestyles and societies from an American perspective. Includes a Kids, USA, Canada and World Edition.

Hofstede Country Cultural Dimensions Ratings (website)

Graphical representation of countries' ratings of power distance, individualism, masculinity, uncertainty avoidance, long term orientation & indulgence.

Association of Religious Data Archive National Profiles (website)

This database contains a variety of religious statistics for each country/territory surveyed.

Pew Research Center Global Religious Landscape (website)

Demographic study on religions includes maps and graphs.

Ethnologue: Languages of the World (database)

Linguistic data and classifications browsable by country or language.


USA & Canada

Multicultural America (2011 ebook)


Latin America & the Caribbean

Glencoe World Geography textbook: Ch.9: The Cultural Geography of Latin America (PDF)

Simple overview of Latin American people, history and culture. Includes graphs and maps for ethnic groups, languages, migration and urbanization, historical empires and religions.


Europe

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian.


Sub-Saharan Africa

Encyclopedia of African peoples (2000 book)

Entries by ethnic group. Visual guide to history, language, ways of life, social structure, culture & religion.

Encyclopedia of African Nations and Civilizations (2002 book)

Entries by region, country and major civilizations. Visual guide to history and peoples of countries.

Africa south of the Sahara : a geographical interpretation (2013 book)

Broad introduction to African cultural diversity, gender dynamics, geomorphology, climate, history, population, economies, resources, current development and issues, etc.

Our Africa

Country specific facts and figures, videos, images and descriptions of poverty, healthcare, food, daily life, people, culture, geography, nature, music, family, economy, education, jobs, history, politics, tourism, etc. Only one map per country, but interactive and descriptive.


Asia & Oceania

Charting the Pacific (website)

Discover stories of lives in the Pacific and explore maps, country profiles, and regional statistics and issues.

The Encyclopedia of New Zealand (website)

New Zealand government's online encyclopedia with entries on different ethnic groups, regions, creative and daily life, government, social concepts, nature, etc.


Study/Work Abroad

GoinGlobal

World Business Culture

Passport to Trade European Business Culture

 

Loading