Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cultural Competence

Increase intercultural awareness and competencies for traveling abroad and living among culturally diverse populations.

News Sources

Academic Texts

Regional & National Cultures

Regional

Encyclopaedic Ethnography of Middle-East and Central Asia (2005 book)

Entries by ethnic group. Includes overview of geography and population, language, history, society, family, ethnic conflict, economy, religion, culture, etc.

Pop Culture Arab World!: Media, Arts, and Lifestyle (2005 book)

Overview of contemporary Middle Eastern popular culture. Covers music, social movements, sports, performances, tourism, literature, icons, language, media, cinema, religion and arts.

Endangered Peoples of Africa and the Middle East: Struggles to Survive and Thrive (2002 ebook)

Chapters sorted by region and communities. Provides information on traditional economy, social and political organization, religion, and threats to survival.

Global Connections: Middle East Culture (website)

Basic introduction to culture, language, religion of the Middle East in general, with timeline (up to 2002) and links to additional information.

National

Culture Shock! ebook series (Middle East & Northern Africa)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers land and history, society, customs, local views, lifestyle, food, touristic activities, language, work and fast facts. Commentary can be blunt and colloquial.

Cultures and Customs book series (Northern Africa) & Cultures and Customs of the Palestinians (2004 book)

Titles by country. Introduces country and its history, then covers religion, customs, media, cinema, literature, and arts in more depth. 

Culture Smart! book series (Middle East & Northern Africa)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers country overview, various ethnic groups, values and attitudes, customs and traditions, etiquette, local lifestyle, entertainment, transportation, business and communication.


Cultures & Customs series

Titles by country. Introduces country and its history, then covers religion, customs, media, cinema, literature, and arts in more depth.

Loading ...

Images & Videos

Creative Dissent: Arts of the Arab World Uprisings (website)

The Arab American Museum's online exhibit of photos, graffiti images, videos and songs about the uprisings in the Arab World from 2010 to 2013. Curated by U-M associate professor & PhD student.

Yousef Jameel Centre for Islamic and Asian Art (website)

The University of Oxford Ashmolean Museum's online collection of art from the Islamic Middle East, China, Japan, Southeast Asia, India and the Himalayas.