Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cultural Competence

Increase intercultural awareness and competencies for traveling abroad and living among culturally diverse populations.

News Sources

Academic Texts

Regional & National Cultures


One Europe, Many Nations: A Historical Dictionary of European National Groups (2000 ebook)

Entries by ethnic group. Includes flag, map, descriptions of the people, their homeland, history, language, religion, etc.

Ethnic Groups of Europe: An Encyclopedia (2011 book)

Entries by ethnic group. Overview discusses history, demography, language, etc.

Eastern Europe : An Introduction to the People, Lands, and Culture (2005 book)

Volumes organized by region, entries by country. Covers geography and demography, minorities, language, political systems, cultural development, etc.

Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe: From the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism (2000 book)

Entries by concept. However, there are country-specific entries on geography, art, culture, language, literature, etc.

Southeast Europe: People and Culture (website)

Select a country to view introductory text and additional articles related to art, dance & theater, film, gastronomy, literature, music and sports.


Culture Shock! ebook series (Europe)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers land and history, society, customs, local views, lifestyle, food, touristic activities, language, work and fast facts. Commentary can be blunt and colloquial.

Cultures and Customs of Europe book series

Titles by country. Introduces country and its history, then covers religion, customs, media, cinema, literature, and arts in more depth. 

Culture Smart! book series (Europe)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers country overview, various ethnic groups, values and attitudes, customs and traditions, etiquette, local lifestyle, entertainment, transportation, business and communication.

Pop Culture Germany! (2006 book)

Overview of contemporary German popular culture. Covers music, social movements, sports, performances, tourism, literature, icons, language, media, cinema, religion and arts.

Loading ...

Images & Videos

Europeana Collections (website)

Database of artworks, artifacts, books, videos and sounds from museums, libraries and universities across Europe.

Sputnik Images (website)

Photo bank of historical images and coverage of current Russian and international events. Website viewable in English and Russian.

Can't find what you're looking for? Try these resources:


Global Road Warrior


Encyclopedia of World Cultures