Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Cultural Competence

Increase intercultural awareness and competencies for traveling abroad and living among culturally diverse populations.

News Sources

Academic Texts


Perspectives on... series

Anthology of essays on history, politics, society and culture that provide a multiperspective view.

 

National & Regional Cultures

Regional

Pop Culture Latin America!: Media, Arts, and Lifestyle (2005 book)

Overview of contemporary Latin American popular culture. Covers music, social movements, sports, performances, tourism, literature, icons, language, media, cinema, religion and arts.

Endangered Peoples of Latin America: Struggles to Survive and Thrive (2001 ebook)

Chapters sorted by region and communities. Provides information on traditional economy, social and political organization, religion, and threats to survival.

National

Culture Shock! ebook series (Latin America & the Caribbean)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers land and history, society, customs, local views, lifestyle, food, touristic activities, language, work and fast facts. Commentary can be blunt and colloquial.

Cultures and Customs of Latin America and the Caribbean series

Titles by country. Introduces country and its history, then covers religion, customs, media, cinema, literature, and arts in more depth. 

Culture Smart! book series (Latin America & the Caribbean)

Travel guide titles by country. Covers country overview, various ethnic groups, values and attitudes, customs and traditions, etiquette, local lifestyle, entertainment, transportation, business and communication.

Loading

References by Subject

History & Culture

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture (2008 ebook)

Entries by concept. Covers Portuguese-speaking regions and includes people, places, works, policies, languages, etc.

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Mesoamerican Cultures (2001 ebook)

Entries by concept. Includes people, arts, religion, major civilizations' geography, cultural ecology, language and history.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures (2000 book)

Entries by concept. Includes arts, literature, media, political and social institutions, biographies, etc.

Historical Dictionaries of Latin America & the Caribbean book series

Encyclopedia titles by country. Brief entries on concepts, major historical and recent events, places and people.

Arts & Literature

Concise Encyclopedia of Latin American Literature (2000 book)

Entries by concepts, including types of literature, famous people, countries, etc.

Encyclopedia of Latin American and Caribbean Literature, 1900-2003 (2004 book)

Entries by concepts, primarily of works, people and countries. Focuses on the experimental literary expression beginning at the end of the 19th century.

Encyclopedia of Latin American Theater (2003 book)

Entries organized by country. Includes overview, followed by short biographies.

Beliefs

Handbook of Mesoamerican Mythology (2000 book)

Introduction to the Mesoamericans, their history, and myths. Covers deities, themes and concepts.

Native Religions and Cultures of Central and South America (2002 book)

Anthology of essays on select religious beliefs, concerns and practices.

Loading

Images, Videos & Graphs

Videos

Latin America in Video (database)

Spanish video database for a variety of fields browsable by country.

Americas (1993 video)

English & Spanish video on issues that prevail in Latin America.

Graphs

Glencoe World Geography textbook - Ch.9: The Cultural Geography of Latin America (PDF)

Simple overview of Latin American people, history and culture. Includes graphs and maps for ethnic groups, languages, migration and urbanization, historical empires and religions.