Eighteenth-Century Fiction brings together 96 works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles.
Eighteenth-Century Fiction brings together 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700–1780 by writers from the British Isles. It is the largest collection of literature from the period available in electronic form. The eighteenth century saw an enormous increase in the production and publication of prose narratives. It was a period of great creative experiment as the structure and conventions of what would be termed the novel were shaped and developed. Eighteenth-Century Fiction offers students and researchers access to this dynamic period of English literary history. It not only represents all the major writers associated with the 'rise of the novel' - Daniel Defoe, Henry Fielding, Samuel Richardson, Tobias Smollett, and Laurence Sterne - but also many less well-known, but equally vital and significant figures, such as Penelope Aubin, Richard Graves, Charles Johnstone, Mary de la Rivière Manley and Sarah Scott. Full details of the works included in Eighteenth-Century Fiction are given in the bibliography.
Nineteenth-Century Fiction collects 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic ...
Nineteenth-Century Fiction collects 250 British and Irish novels from the period 1782 to 1903, stretching from the golden age of Gothic fiction to the Decadent and New Woman novels of the 1890s. Major novelists of the period such as Austen, Scott, Mary Shelley, Dickens, Eliot, Hardy and the Brontës feature alongside popular romances, sensation fiction, colonial adventure novels and children’s literature. Nineteenth-Century Fiction represents the great achievements of the Victorian canon and reflects the landmarks of the period, portraying the genre in all its energy and variety, from Gothic horror to social satire, from moral earnestness to aestheticism, from masculine adventure to feminist polemic. In addition to the better-known novels, the collection covers many neglected or little-known works, most of them out of print or difficult to find. Nineteenth-Century Fiction contains 250 complete works of prose fiction by 102 authors from the period 1782 to 1903. Each text is reproduced in full, including all prefatory matter and annotation by the original author. Bibliographic details are included from each of the editions used along with illustrations where available. Full details of the works included in Nineteenth-Century Fiction are given in the bibliography.
Current web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language, with historical quotations.
New web version of the most complete and authoritative dictionary of the English language. Provides definitions, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words, past and present, from across the English-speaking world, with over 3 million quotations documenting how and when they have been used over time. Also incorporates the Historical Thesaurus of the OED, where words are arranged by their meaning rather than alphabetically.
Cross searches 17th-18th Century Burney Collection, 19th Century British Library Newspapers, and British Newspapers III (1780-1950).
This full-text database cross-searches several historical british newspaper collections, including the 17th-18th Century Burney Collection,19th Century British Library Newspapers, and British Newspapers III (1780-1950).