Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

OHEI Kaiser Permanente Fellows

Resources for OHEI KPF fellows

PubMed

PubMed is the world's largest databases of citations in the biomedical and life sciences. Because it is a citation database, you will find titles and abstracts for most records; some records will also provide links to full-text via publisher websites (these are often fee-based access points) or public access policies such as PubMed Central. 

Useful features in PubMed include:

  • Single citation matcher: useful for finding known items (eg citations for which you know the author, journal or part of the article's title)
  • Clinical queries: useful for finding evidence-based articles, clinical studies and systematic reviews
  • Topic specific queries: pre-built searches on topics of interest, including keywords, controlled vocabulary terms and journals related to that topic. Some useful topic-specific queries include Cancer, Health Disparities and Nursing.

PubMed tutorials provide a great overview of the resource, as well as tips for using specific features.

PubMed Central

PubMed Central (http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/)  is a repository of full-text scientific literature in the biomedical and life sciences. Some of the citations in PubMed will link to full-text articles in PubMed Central.

Michigan eLibrary (MeL)

The Michigan eLibrary (MeL) is a collection of digital resources, including scholarly databases with access to full-text, available to Michigan residents. Access the full collection at http://mel.org.

The Health Gateway collection includes:

  • Health and Wellness Resource Center
  • Health Reference Center Academic
  • Nursing and Allied Health Collection