Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Jewish Heritage Collection: Welcome

The Jewish Heritage Collection is a unique assemblage of artwork, books, printed ephemera, and objects of everyday and religious significance

Digital Archive

The Jewish Heritage Collection Digital Archive is a growing collection of images and supporting descriptions of approximately 600 objects from the Jewish Heritage Collection of the Special Collections Library at the University of Michigan. Descriptions are searchable by keyword or with an advanced search of category, material (AAT), item number, holiday or ritual (LCSH), geographic origin, location in collection, and donor/source.  Users can limit their results to a specific date range or choose to only view materials containing digital media.  In addition, users can browse all media, all records, or by topic.  

      

The University of Michigan Library provides these images for non-commercial educational, scholarly, and research uses.  You are responsible for making your own legal assessment in light of your particular use and securing any necessary permissions or licenses regarding possible rights in the items in the photographs, unless fair use or other exceptions apply to your intended use. 

Jewish Heritage Collection

 

Printed Materials
-Approximately 2000 books, serials, and pamphlets
-More than 750 pieces of printed paper ephemera including pop-up cards, sheet music, posters, and clippings
 
Graphics and artwork
-Over 1000 works of art
-Includes drawings, paintings, engravings, woodcuts, and other prints
 
Artifacts
-Ranges from mass-produced to hand-crafted
-Documents both the mundane and ceremonial of Jewish life

 

   Jewelry box with a chai           

History
-Carefully crafted and collected over several decades by Constance and Theodore Harris of Beverly Hills, CA 
-Gradually gifted to the University Library and the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies beginning in 2003
-Collection highlighted in the 2005 exhibition "Portrait of a People", curated by Peggy E. Daub, Elliot H. Gertel, and Erica T. Lehrer
 

Scope
-Geographical range throughout the globe with a strong European and American core collection
-Chronological span of all of Jewish history with an emphasis on the 15th century to the present

 

 

 

Organization of this guide

This guide divides resources into the following thematic categories: 

 Resources associated with the Jewish holidays and festivals (e.g. Yom Kippur, Purim)

 Resources associated with Jewish rites and rituals which are linked to age or transition (e.g. Bar Mitzvah, marriage)

 Resources associated with religious and secular aspects of the Jewish household,.   

Resources associated with Jewish community in the Diaspora and in Israel

Resources associated with Jewish creative endeavors including fine art, folk art, and souvenirs. 

Resources associated with anti-Semitism and survival through persecution

Coming soon

Clicking on an image in any of the sections will link to the digital archive and clicking on any of the book titles will link to MIRLYN, the University of Michigan's library catalog  All of the books in the main sections are from the Jewish Heritage Collection but additional resources available at UM are provided in the glossary and resources section.  

Library Contact

Juli McLoone
Social:Twitter Page

Plan your visit

The University of Michigan (UM) is located in Ann Arbor, Michigan, approximately 45 miles west of Detroit. The Campus Information website is a helpful resource when planning a visit to the University of Michigan campus.

Hatcher Graduate Library is located on UM's Central Campus, right off the Diag. It is the primary research collection for the humanities and social sciences and is open to everyone including students, faculty, staff, researchers, and members of the public. The general collection is housed in open stacks, however some materials are stored off-site.  Special Collections materials (including items from the JHC) are housed in secure locations and accessible only in the reading room. 

To make the most of your visit, register as a user and submit a request in advance. 

                                                       

The Special Collections Library is located in the south tower of Hatcher Graduate Library.  If you enter from the southern entrance (from the direction of S. University), simply take the elevator to the 8th floor.  If you enter from the northern entrance (from the direction of the Diag), go to the 2nd floor, pass the reference desk and computers, and cross to the elevators in the south tower and take the elevator to the 8th floor.  Once on the 8th floor, enter through the doors and turn right.  The JHC display case will be on your left right before the Special Collections reading room.  Staff in the reading room will be able to provide assistance.

Hours and other information are available on the Special Collections website.