Additional Research Guides
- U-M Library Research Guides
Explore the full list of U-M research guides. Browse under "International Studies" to find guides pertaining to specific regions and languages.
Comprehensive Resources
- CIA - The World FactbookInformation on history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowCreate and find tables, charts, and maps using data from governments and private organizations
- Global EdgeHistorical, economic, and political statistics for nearly every country around the world
- KnoemaWorld and regional statistics, national data, maps, and rankings
- StatistaOne of the world’s largest statistics portals; Includes a customized search query form
Crime & Justice
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThe United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics
- United Nations Office on Drugs and CrimeData on crime and the operation of criminal justice systems
- United States Department of JusticeContains annual statistical reports
Development Indicators
- DevInfoContains the official UN statistics used in monitoring the world’s progress towards the Millennium Development Goals
Economics
- International Labour Organization Statistics DatabaseContains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies
- International Monetary FundPublishes a range of time series data on IMF lending, exchange rates, and other economic and financial indicators
Education
- ERIC - Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new windowBibliographic database of more than 1.1 million education-related citations going back to 1966
- National Center for Education StatisticsPrimary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education in the U.S. and other nations
- UNESCO Institute for StatisticsDatabase covers all education levels and addresses key policy issues for over 200 countries
Health & Environment
- United Nations Statistics Division - Environmental IndicatorsGlobal environmental statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of sources
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowCore collection of multidisciplinary indexes which permit searching for articles that cite a known author or work
Migration
- Migration Policy InstituteContains international migration statistics
Opinion
- Polling the Nations This link opens in a new windowCompilation of questions and responses from more than 18,000 national, state, local and special surveys from over 1700 polling organizations.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research This link opens in a new windowOne of the world's leading archives of social science data
Political & Social Research
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data Archive This link opens in a new windowArchive of computerized, numeric social science data, including demography, economics, health care, politics, social behavior, and more
Visual Data
- GapminderPresents interactive global statistics using visuals, facts, and videos
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides easy access to demographic information about the United States, from 1790 to present; Create maps and reports
- STATcompilerMake custom tables, graphs, and charts based on hundreds of demographic and health indicators across over 70 countries