Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Nutritional Sciences

Provides resources, strategies, and information on conducting research in the nutritional sciences.

Why Search Web of Science?

Web of Science is a set of interdisciplinary databases, so that you can easily search both science & social science literature at the same time. 

Web of Science is not indexed, so you'll need to use more synonyms to try to fully search for a topic.

Running a Search

On the basic search page of Web of Science, put your search together one concept at at time.  The Topic box on the right, is a dropdown menu that lets you choose from a variety of fields to construct your search.  Start off by adding United States and Adolecents to the basic search.

(dietary intake OR food intake) AND (dairy products OR milk products OR yogurt OR cheese) AND (united states) AND adolescents

Below the search boxes,you can choose a date range under Timespan & select or deselect databases.

Search Results

With only 38 results, it's clear that you will need to add more synonyms to the search.

Abstract Page, Cited References

On the Abstract page, you can find notonly the abstract, but also KeyWords Plus, which can help you revise your search.  The Citation Network box shows how often this article has been cited by another article in this same database. Cited reference searching lets you look into the future in the same way that a list of references in an article lets you look into the past.

Search Tip - Cited Reference Searching

A useful tool, cited reference searching, lets you look into the future, at articles that have referenced an article in your list of results.  In Embase, you'll see a Cited by:[#] notation after many articles, which tells you that this article has been cited by that number of articles in a particular database.

picture of article with "cited by" notation in the Embase database

Click on the link to be taken to the list, in this case, provided by the Scopus database.  Be aware that there may be more articles that have cited this article, because no database includes all published articles.

Revising Your Search Terms

Look through some relevant articles to find potential new search terms (found on the Abstract page under KeyWords Plus).  Here's a revised version of the search.

(dietary intake OR food intake OR energy intake) AND (dairy products OR milk products OR "milk consumption" OR yogurt OR yoghurt OR cheese) AND (united states OR america OR u.s. OR u.s.a.) AND (adolescents OR teenage OR teenagers OR youth)

Search Tip - Alternate Forms of Words

Because you search the Web of Science using keywords (that is, the database searches exactly what you enter), remember to consider adding alternate forms of words, including British & American spellings.

The search above includes "yogurt" & "yoghurt" & "teenage" & "teenagers" to try to cover the literature more broadly.

Refining Your Search

To narrow your results appropriately, use categories (from Web of Science categories to Language to Open access status), found on the left.  These categories change based on your search results.  Make your selection, then click the Refine button.