Research Guides: Nutritional Sciences: Databases

General Article Databases

PubMed @ U-M
The National Library of Medicine's interface for MEDLINE, the premier biomedical database. Most citations are from MEDLINE journals, but PubMed also includes citations to full-text articles from PMC (used as a public access repository) & records for chapters, reports, & books from the NCBI Bookshelf & preprints for NIH-funded research.
EMBASE
A biomedical database that complements the MEDLINE, especially when you're looking for a global perspective or need information on pharmaceuticals.
Applied Science and Technology Abstracts (with Full Text)
Covers 350+ key, international English-language periodicals in the applied sciences and technology
Biosis Previews
Part of the Web of Science suite of databases, it focuses on the biological sciences.
CINAHL
Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature. A good complement to PubMed, especially when you're looking for psychosocial aspects of health care.
General Science Abstracts
Indexes over 160 leading scientific journals and magazines published in the U.S. and Great Britain, across all scientific fields, from astronomy to zoology.
Global Health
Provides information on international health, biomedical life sciences, non-communicable diseases, public health nutrition, food safety & hygiene, & much more. Also includes information on U.S. public health.
Scopus
An interdisciplinary set of databases that allows you to search both social sciences and biomedical resources, as well as providing cited reference searching.
Web of Science
An interdisciplinary database that allows you to search multiple aspects of a condition in one place. Includes cited reference searching & Journal Citation Reports.

Subject Specific Databases & Other Resources

AGRICOLA
National Institute of Environmental Health Science
Search by "nutrition" or "NHANES" or browse by research topic.
Data Sources (research guide)
From the Molecular, Cellular, & Developmental Biology Resources research guide.
Genes, Proteins, & Sequence Analysis (research guide)
From the Bioinformatics research guide.
Genetics (research guide)
A guide to genetics resources.
Genome Resources (research guide)
From the Bioinformatics research guide.
PsycInfo
A good source for the psychological literature.

Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Access the new Food Science Research Network, a new addition to the Social Science Research Network. Start sharing your early stage research & real world ideas on this new research network. Browse, download, & subscribe to interdisciplinary subjects pursuant to your research and cite your colleagues & peers. Learn from hundreds of granular subjects including: agricultural food science, food chemistry, food engineering, food groups, food laws, policy & regulation, food microbiology, food processing, food product, food quality, safety & defense, food science education, food sustainability & security, functional food, & more.

Reports, Clinical Trials, & Other Grey Literature

Looking for reports, conference proceedings, clinical trials, & other resources that are usually not available in databases can be difficult, but these resources can also be an important part of your research, especially in protecting against reporting bias in the published literature. The Grey Literature research guide provides links to these sources & tips on how to search them.

Grey Literature