Databases
- ARTstorDigital Library provides over 1.5 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities and sciences. It includes an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research. Our community-built collections comprise contributions from outstanding international museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates.
- National Film Board of Canada- Aboriginal Peoples ChannelStreaming video archive, is available for personal use subject to the notices on their site.
- North American Indian DramaThis edition of North American Indian Drama contains 256 plays by 49 playwrights. More than half of the works are previously unpublished, and hard to find, representing groups such as Cherokee, Métis, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowContains over 119,000 pages of text and images. Included are biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories. The database represents the largest compilation ever created of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.
Online Resources
- Native Art NetworkWe feature authentic Traditional and Contemporary Native American Art of the highest quality. We represent individual Native American artists and families from the United States and Canada. We are 100% Native American owned and operated.
- National Museum of the American IndianIs an active and visible component of the Smithsonian Institution, the world's largest museum complex. The NMAI cares for one of the world's most expansive collections of Native artifacts, including objects, photographs, archives, and media covering the entire Western Hemisphere, from the Arctic Circle to Tierra del Fuego.
- Carriers of Culture- Living Native Basket TraditionsThe Smithsonian Institution Center for Folklife and Cultural Heritage, the National Museum of the American Indian, and the Michigan State University Museum, in collaboration with Native American basketmakers' organizations across the country, will launch a multi-year, multi-faceted celebration of the rich, living Native basket traditions of North America and Hawaii.
Books
The Making of Asmat Art: Indigenous Art in World Perspective by Call Number: N7326.I48 S736 2012ISBN: 9781907774201Publication Date: 2012
Art in the Time of Colony by Call Number: N 7401 .C365 2014ISBN: 9781409455967Publication Date: 2014
Coded Territories: Tracing Indigenous Pathways in New Media Art by Call Number: N6549.5 .A54 C63 2014ISBN: 9781552387061Publication Date: 2014
Drawing with Great Needles: Ancient Tattoo Traditions of North America by Call Number: GT2346 .N6 D73 2013ISBN: 9780292749122Publication Date: 2013-11-15
Authentic Native Art (Resources, Legislation etc..)
- U.S. Department of the Interior - Indian Arts and Crafts Act 1990It is illegal to offer or display for sale, or sell any art or craft product in a manner that falsely suggests it is Indian produced, an Indian product, or the product of a particular Indian or Indian Tribe or Indian arts and crafts organization, resident within the United States.
- Contemporary Issues about Native American ArtA collection of annotated links discussing Authenticity, Consumer Information, Laws etc...
- The Antique Tribal Art Dealers Association Inc.An association of antique American Indian and Tribal art dealers dedicated to authenticity, integrity, and honoring the artistic legacy of indigenous people.
Library Contact
Repatriation and Appropriation
- National Congress of American IndiansNCAI is deeply concerned with the repatriation of Native American human remains and funerary objects, the vigorous enforcement of the Indian Arts & Crafts Act, and the revitalization of Native languages.
- National Museum of the American Indian - RepatriationNMAI repatriation history, 6 steps of repatriation, process and more.
- Native AppropriationsNative Appropriations is a forum for discussing representations of Native peoples, including stereotypes, cultural appropriation, news, activism, and more.
Introduction
Indigenous art books can be found in the Hatcher Graduate Library, Fine Arts Library and the Art Architecture & Engineering Book Collection (Duderstadt Center).