Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Musical Theatre Resources

This guide provides suggested resources for musical theatre research at the University of Michigan.

Selected Reference Works

Block, Geoffrey, et al. "Musical theater." In The Grove Dictionary of American Music.
Reference: ML 101 .U6 N48 2013
Also available electronically: "Musical theater" in Oxford Music Online

Bloom, Ken.
American song: the complete companion to Tin Pan Alley song.
Reference: ML 128 .M78 B662 2001

DeVenney, David P.
The new Broadway song companion: an annotated guide to musical theatre literature by voice type and song style.
Reference: ML 128 .M78 D48 2009

Dietz, Dan.
The complete book of 1940s Broadway musicals.
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 D518 2015

Dietz, Dan.
The complete book of 1950s Broadway musicals.
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 D52 2014

Dietz, Dan.
The complete book of 1960s Broadway musicals.
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 D53 2014

Everett, William A.
The musical: a research and information guide.
Reference: ML 128 .M78 E84 2011

Everett, William A., and Paul R. Laird.
Historical dictionary of the Broadway musical.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 E94 2008

Gänzl, Kurt.
The encyclopedia of the musical theatre.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 G311 2001

Green, Stanley.
Hollywood musicals year by year.
Reference: PN 1995.9 .M86 G74 2010

Hischak, Thomas S.
The American musical theatre song encyclopedia.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 H591 1995

Hischak, Thomas S.
Broadway plays and musicals: descriptions and essential facts of more than 14,000 shows through 2007.
Reference: PN 2277.N5 H573 2009

Hischak, Thomas S.
The Oxford companion to the American musical: theatre, film, and television.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 H593 2008

Hischak, Thomas S.
The Rodgers and Hammerstein encyclopedia.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 H595 2007

Norton, Richard C.
A chronology of American musical theater.
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 N671 2002

Peterson, Jr., Bernard L.
A century of musicals in black and white: an encyclopedia of musical stage works by, about, or involving African Americans.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 P371 1993

Robinson, Mark A.
The world of musicals: an encyclopedia of stage, screen, and song.
Reference: ML 102 .M88 R63 2014

Suskin, Steven.
Opening night on Broadway: a critical quotebook of the golden era of the musical theatre, Oklahoma! (1943) to Fiddler on the roof (1964).
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 S91 1990

Suskin, Steven.
More opening nights on Broadway: a critical quotebook of the musical theatre, 1965 through 1981.
Reference: ML 1711.8 .N3 M81 1997