Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Beer Brewing History in the United States

Finding Primary Resources

U-M Libraries has historical collections beyond the general collection. They typically hold archives and other collections of primary resources or rare materials. U-M Library Special Collections, the Bentley Historical Library, and the Clements Library provide a different user experience. It is recommended that users put in their requests for materials ahead of time to guarantee availability and ensure an optimal experience.

For a full list of the alternative collections on campus, see the Research Guide.

How to Search Using Mirlyn

Mirlyn's Advanced Search allows users to search collections in specific locations, such as the Bentley Historical Library, U-M Library Special Collections, or the Clements Library. To use the function, open Advanced Search and fill out the search fields as normal. At the bottom of the page there is a second set of drop down menus.

You can also filter existing search results to a particular library using the filter tools on the left hand side of your results page.

The Bentley Historical Library

The Bentley Historical Library, located on North Campus, documents the history of the University of Michigan and the State of Michigan. It houses over 8,000 research collections. As the stacks are closed, materials must be requested ahead of time. See this guide to requesting materials at The Bentley. The following titles are examples of materials available at The Bentley Historical Library.

U-M Library Special Collections

The U-M Library Special Collections are located on the 7th and 8th floors of the Harlan Hatcher Graduate Library. Items must be viewed in the eighth floor reading room, and a photo ID is necessary to check in. For the best experience, it is recommended that users request items in advance. As many items from the collections are stored off site, advance requests are the best way to guarantee an item will be ready to view. Use this tutorial to learn how to register or request an item. The following are examples of what is available at U-M Library Special Collections.

 

The Clements Library

The William L. Clements Library specializes in collections regarding American history and culture from the fifteenth to the nineteenth century. The original building, located on S. University, is currently under renovation. To access the collections, visit their temporary location 1580 E. Ellsworth. Calling or emailing ahead is encouraged. See this guide to visiting the Clements Library. The following list is a sample of what is available at the Clements Library.