Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Political Science 495: Women and War

Course guide for Political Science 495, Women and War: Contemporary and Historical Perspectives taught by Professor Anne Manuel Winter 2018.

Find Articles in EBSCO Databases

Many useful databases are available from the same platform, EBSCO.  You could search the following databases separately or together:

PsycINFO

Contains more than one million citations and summaries of journal articles, books, dissertations and technical reports, all in the field of psychology. Includes the areas of: medicine, psychiatry, sociology, linguistics, law. Coverage: 1887-present

Gender Studies Database

Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Combines two databases: Women's Studies International and Men's Studies. Documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses & dissertations and other sources.

Political Science Complete

PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.

Public Affairs Index

Covers national and global contemporary public policy issues ranging from public health, the environment, housing, human and civil rights, to international commerce and conflict. It provides coverage of the literature from 1970 to present. In addition, it includes selective indexing for articles published between 1934 and 1969.

More Databases for Finding Articles

Oxford Handbooks Online

Oxford Handbooks Online is an online collection of over 16,000 articles/book chapters from more than 450 handbooks published by Oxford University Press.  They provide an excellent introduction to the scholarly conversation on many subjects.  Here are some that may be of interest...

Khalid, Maryam. "Feminist perspectives on militarism and war: Critiques, contradictions, and collusions." Oxford Handbooks Online.

Elman, R. Amy. "Gender Violence." Oxford Handbooks Online

Fiddian-Qasmiyeh, Elena. "Gender and Forced Migration." Oxford Handbooks Online.

De Angelis, Karin, and David R. Segal. "Minorities in the Military." Oxford Handbooks Online.