Skip to main content
Library Research Guides

Research Funding and Grants Guide

Provides resources on finding funding and grants.

Search Funding Databases

The University of Michigan invests a significant amount of resources in subscriptions to several third-party funding databases that allow faculty and staff to easily search for available global funding opportunities using their existing U-M login (Level 1) credentials. On this page you’ll find:

Interested in learning more about how funding databases can help with your next funding search? Visit our Database Tutorials page.

COS / Pivot

  • Conduct a comprehensive search of grant opportunities from a variety of global resources, including: government sources, foundations, and professional associations.
  • Search for opportunities using a variety of parameters such as keyword, text, funder deadline, citizenship or residency, and funding amount.
  • Setup and receive a customized weekly email alert tailored to your research interests to be notified of new funding opportunities.

Foundation Directory Online

  • If you’ve found a foundation funding opportunity that you are interested in applying for, use Foundation Directory Online to obtain additional details on that foundation before drafting your proposal materials.
  • This directory does NOT list specific award opportunities, but it is especially helpful as a scoping tool for learning about the funding and programmatic profiles of over 100K foundations and charities.
  • Use the profile information found on the directory to write a more targeted proposal that focuses on the specific funding priorities and interests of the foundation you’re applying to. 

Grants.gov

  • Find available federal funding opportunities from 26 different federal grant-making agencies.
  • Tailor your funding search by newest opportunity, funding category, funding agency, and researcher eligibility.

     

SPIN

  • Use this database to search for global funding opportunities from a variety of sources, including: government, foundations, professional associations, and also crowdfunding resources.
  • Search available opportunities using a variety of criteria, including: keyword, funder type, funder location, etc.
  • Setup customized funding alerts for your specific research interests, export the results of your funding search for later use, and bookmark pages for easier future access.