This database is dedicated to the study of modern and contemporary art. It covers all art forms, from painting, sculpture and photography to video, body art and graffiti. Full abstracts and indexing from the late 1960s on.
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is an index to scholarly literature on Western art and art history, incorporating journal articles, monographs, essay collections, and conference proceedings. It is a successor database to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). IBA includes citations for works published or indexed from 2008 through the present.
Online version of comprehensive art reference works including Grove Dictionary of Art. All forms of the visual arts are covered: painting, sculpture, architecture, graphic and decorative arts, and photography. Time span is from prehistory to the 1990s. Includes 41,000 articles and 10,000 color images.
Digital images created from lantern slides showing architecture, cities, and landscapes from the late 19th and 20th centuries.
The Art, Architecture and Engineering Library Lantern Slide Collection is a collection of approximately 17,000 lantern slides of architectural and geographic topics. Lantern slides are glass slides that were used from the late nineteenth century through the mid-twentieth century. They are made of two thin panes of glass that measure 3" X 4 1/4" or 3" X 3". Usually the slide is composed of a layer of emulsion laid on one pane of glass and covered by the other pane, but sometimes there is actually a layer of film sandwiched between the glass panes.
free exchange of image resources for and among Art History teaching images for members of the educational community. While the AICT site is maintained and distributed under the general auspices of the Minneapolis College of Art & Design (MCAD), this institution is not responsible for content or use thereof. All work on the AICT is voluntary.
The Getty provides access to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) its predecessor (RILA) for no charge on its Web site. These citation databases on the history of art, searchable together, cover material published between 1975 and 2007. For material published after 2007 see the International Bibliography of Art (IBA) at www.csa.com.
The name BHA has been used informally to refer to a group of databases: RAA, RILA, BHA, and IBA. The data available on the Getty Web site comprises two of these databases: BHA and RILA. BHA (Bibliography of the History of Art/Bibliographie d'histoire de l'art) covers the years 1990-2007; the Getty Web version includes all records with abstracts in French or English and all subject terms in French and English. RILA (Répertoire de la litterature de l'art) covers 1975-1989. At present, the Getty has no plans to add RAA (Répertoire d'art et d'archéologie), which covers 1973-1989. IBA (International Bibliography of Art), covering 2008 to the present, is a separate subscription-only database from ProQuest that is not included on this free website provided by Getty.
The Bulletin of the University of Michigan Museums of Art and Archaeology was a joint publication of the University of Michigan Museum of Art, the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, and the Department of the History of Art. The Bulletin was published from 1978 to 2008. The archive of these issues will be permanently available via this collection.
The Bulletin of the University of Michigan Museums of Art and Archaeology was a joint publication of the University of Michigan Museum of Art, the Kelsey Museum of Archaeology, and the Department of the History of Art. This journal featured scholarly articles related to subjects of interest to both museums, particularly their collections, exhibitions, and fieldwork programs. Written principally by graduate students, faculty, and curators affiliated with the museums and the Department of the History of Art at the University of Michigan, The Bulletin was peer reviewed and distributed internationally. Each volume included accessions lists as well as several short essays on recent acquisitions or significant holdings. Issues were made available online six months after print publication. The Bulletin was published from 1978 to 2008. The archive of these issues will be permanently available via this collection.
This archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.
This archive provides access to primary sources and critical documents tracing the development of twentieth-century art in Latin America and among Latino populations in the United States.Documents include writings by artists, artistic movements, critics, and curators from Mexico, Central and South America, the Caribbean, and the United States. The archive may be searched by keywords or browsed by descriptors.
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. Google Scholar helps you find relevant work across the world of scholarly research.
This database catalogs art installations on the University of Michigan campus.
The University of Michigan has a wealth of public art waiting for you to explore. The collection includes both permanently installed and temporary artworks that span across a range of media. We invite you to browse through the collection for each campus, and to visit the artworks yourself. You can plan a tour by browsing around on the Google map for each campus and finding out what interests you. Then print the maps, and start exploring!