Research Guides: Political Science 364: Public International Law: Finding Books and Articles About Treaties

Use Footnotes to Find Documents

One of the best ways to find documents is to look through the notes from secondary sources like books and journal articles. Look closely at the footnotes or the works cited list and try to locate the titles listed using Library Catalog Search to find books and Google Scholar with MGet It Links to find articles.

Oxford Handbooks - for an overview of scholarly research

The Oxford Handbook of United Nations Treaties
Scholarly analysis of the UN as a forum in which and an institution through which treaties are negotiated and implemented
Oxford Handbook of International Relations
Covers major theories, surveys a wide spectrum of methods, addresses the relationship between scholarship and policy making, and examines the field's relation with cognate disciplines.

Find Scholarly Articles About Treaties

Political Science Complete
PSC provides indexing and abstracts for 2900 journals,and full-text articles for 500 top-ranked scholarly journals. Also includes reference works and professional conference papers. Its coverage consists of topics such as law and legislation, comparative politics, political theory, international relations, humanitarian issues, and non-governmental organizations.
JSTOR
Use the Advanced Search to restrict by subject area. Provides full-text access to the archives of core scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Dates of coverage vary by journal title. All go back to the very first issue published, but most have a "moving wall" embargo that excludes issues from the most recent X years (where X can be anywhere from 1 up to 10 years, depending on the particular journal; most are in the 3 to 5 year embargo range). JSTOR does link out to other databases for more recent content

Find Books

U-M Library Catalog Search
Catalog Search results will include everything in our physical collection (books, audio, video, maps, musical scores, archival materials, and more), as well as materials available online such as electronic books, streaming audio and video, and online journals.
Law Library Catalog
Books in the Law Library can be found using the Law Library catalog. Law Library books can't be checked out of the Law Library, but students can use them in the building.

Background Information

International Studies Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Includes over 400 signed articles on all aspects of international studies. The print edition was published in 12 volumes in 2010. This work is a product of the International Studies Compendium Project and is published in association with the International Studies Association. Includes topic areas such as peace studies, diplomacy studies, foreign policy analysis, global development and environmental studies.
Encyclopedia of United States National Security This link opens in a new window
Articles on international affairs the issues that affect our national security. Ed. by Richard J. Samuels.

Political Handbook of the World
Provides country profiles that cover key country facts, government and political history, current issues, political parties and organizations, legislatures and cabinets, and communications and media. Browse by country, regime type, party system, and electoral system.